From San Antonio, Texas to Madrid, Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
May 13th 2013
Published: October 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

-I think me an my dad had the best pizza ever. Of course we wandered around Spain for a bit- me and my dad getting off the plane (no customs) and getting on a bus that takes you through the city. We had general directions to the hostel but no very specific. One thing I remember is standing on a corner in Spain completely lost. trying to find out land markers ( we were standing at a very large roundabout- which is fine, but I could not see what buildings of where I was and roundabouts make a crappy way of trying to turn the map in the right direction) , trying not to get run over, trying to have a cigarette, and trying not to stress out was all going on. We finally make it to the hostel, check in then start wandering, and tried out local foods. I had tapas for the first time, and honestly, I wasn't a huge fan. Too heavy on the sea food I think. One thing I was a fan of though, was the fact that you can have beer for breakfast and beer is served overflowing from the glass and usually doesn't come smaller than a pint. One cultural difference was that when you handed someone money, they kind of looked at you funny. I didn't realize you put it on the counter for them to pick up. Then when they give you back the change, they also put it on the counter-not directly in your hand. Made for awkward money transitions at first but I got used to it. So back to the pizza. We had been wandering around Madrid and visited the town square, found nun-cookies (more on that later) and we get back to the hostel, and we are not quite hungry. I think we took showers and then went downstairs where other travelers were now cooking their dinner. That made us hungry- but hair wet, it is raining outside, both of us in pajamas... we decided we wanted pizza. So we take off down the street from the hostel and find our way four blocks down to a pizzeria. Like I said, BEST PIZZA EVER. I don't know if it was because we were so hungry or we were so tired, or if it was really that good- but I swore if I could eat like that all month that I would.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb