I'm going on an adventure!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
May 27th 2013
Published: May 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

StackedStackedStacked

Looks like a lot doesn't it? Probably because it is...

Para estudiar en España con la Universidad de Baylor



Hi! Welcome to Gabs' summer study abroad blog. I'm glad you stopped by 😊

And you promise that I will come back?"
"No...and if you do, you will not be the same."
"That's what I thought..."
-Bilbo Baggins and Gandalf in The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey


As of this moment, I am about packed and ready to travel to Madrid, Spain for the very first time! Not gonna lie, it was a struggle to stay under the 40 lb. check-in limit, and unfortunately, my carry-on will be a little heavier than anticipated. But now, I have everything I need to thrive (I hope). I'm still amazed that I get to be part of this experience, especially in my last summer of undergrad.

I've done quite a bit of traveling out of the U.S- Mexico, Canada, the Philippines and Namibia- but studying abroad is something entirely new to me. Besides getting there, it will be the first new thing that I will see and do on my five week journey to study the language and culture of Spain. I'm probably most excited to eat, though. In a travel guide that I bought I read about jamón ibérico de bellota that I really hope I have the opportunity to try. Apparently Spaniards talk about pig like they would fine wine.

My goal is to record every new experience that I have, and to have a new experience every day. It's more of a guideline, really, but the incentive is to go out and see the city, and everywhere else we travel in Spain (and possibly even Europe). Otherwise I'm afraid I'll stay indoors stuck in my school work, like I sort of do at home. That would be boring to read about, wouldn't it? Kinda like this post...

Anyway, the fact is, I'm downright terrible about doing things consistently. However, I want to savor every minute that I'm away and be able to remember the experience when I get back. And I think the best way to do that is to post pictures on and write in a blog. (Gabs, it will be worth the effort, and it will be fun. Don't take it too seriously...) Hopefully I find a place with WiFi if my apartment doesn't have it, but if not, I'll just save my pictures to my computer and write in my journal.

So here it goes, this may sound cheesy, but I'm going on an adventure! And I definitely won't come back the same.

Ciao for now,

Gabs

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb