The rain in Spain stays mainly in the plain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
September 2nd 2011
Published: September 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The rain in Spain stays mainly in the plain
The key word is “mainly.” At other times it rains in Madrid on the day you plan on spending the day in the park taking siestas and walking around. Oh well. I sat in my hostel for a good part of the day to write. The hostel is a couple hundred year old mansion with an Islamic/ Turkish enclosed courtyard with a stain glass roof and a water feature in the middle. It is beautiful on the inside and I can’t believe someone decided to turn it into a hostel, otherwise I don’t know what else this would be considered besides a mansion.
Later in the night there is a guided tour to go on a tapas crawl. It is just like a pub crawl but we went to 4 tapa’s places had plenty to eat and had sangria at each place. We had a good group of about 10 people and it was about 2-3 hours it was the highlight of my night even though our group decided to not stop and continue onto the pub crawl (that left the hostel at 1:30am) I cant make it past the 2nd bar at 3am. I have what I think is another late night in Madrid, but not as the locals do because many of them stayed out until 6 or 7am. I don’t know how they do this. They must have mastered the art of the siesta better than I have so far.
The next day I do walk around again with a tour guide thanks to the hostel. It was not very good and I find myself at the same places I was at a week earlier on my self guided, no map walk. They take us to 6 places and I have already been to 5 of them. Later in the night is paella night at the bar in the hostel so I need to get ready for that, not with a shower but with a nap. So I leave with my backpack and towel and head to the park for a nap and for some people watching.
Paella night was fun, but a few of us do not want to continue on for the 7am bar crawl, so we leave “early” from paella night at around midnight and go to a few bars on our own.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb