The Last Day


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 24th 2011
Published: July 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This is it. The final day I am in Spain. There is so much that could be said about this trip and how it has been a huge stepping stone in my life. This past year has been hard with family, friend and personal issues with my life. This trip was everything I needed to become rejuvenated again. Looking back on the past two weeks it feels like everything happened so fast. It’s like my trip hit warp speed and now it is about over.

Today a couple of us went to the park to have a picnic. It was a great way to end the trip. We rowed the boats, walked around and talked about everything under the sun. Its kind of funny how we all became a little family over two weeks. Though there were some disputes and fusing, we ultimately all got a long fairly well.

After the park we headed back to the hotel. I was trying to take some last minute pictures, just to make sure I didn’t miss anything. When we got to the hotel, we started packing and getting all our stuff ready for tomorrow for check-out. As we wrapped up cleaning up and packing, it was time to go to Cesar and Jennifer’s house for dinner. Again, we all laughed and looked back on the trip and reminisced on the last two weeks over some food and wine. It is going to suck going back home because I cannot enjoy a bottle of wine whenever I please anymore. Being in Spain, I really did catch a taste for wine. It is really good with dinner and even lunch. Dinner quickly came to an end and we said our goodbyes to our professors. I am so grateful that they made this trip because this will be something I will never forget.

This wraps up my trip. Spain is the most marvelous place I have ever laid eyes on; from the architecture, the people, the food and anything else. I had a =n outstanding time these past two weeks. The biggest asset I acquired from this trip is knowing the differences and similarities that the United States has with Spain. In the media, Spain likes to choose sides on stories. The United States tries to be as neutral as possible. This may be good for readers to buy the newspapers for sale, but all it does is reaffirm existing beliefs, which does not help you grow or broaden your perspective. A similarity is that media focuses on sports here. The sports maybe are different in popularity between the countries, but there is a big emphasis on sports by each. Futbol, or as we call it soccer, is the biggest thing in Spain. For America, football or futbol Americano, is the biggest thing for the U.S. America has shaped Spain in some ways in culture to. This is due to movies they watch from the states, which are many, and television channels from the states. When a culture watches something on a screen, they tend to do as they see. I have noticed this in food place, selling a lot of American food, billboards showing tons of campaigns for food, makeup and so forth and even the way people talk. In addition, Spain accommodates to Americans very well. I met many people who spoke some English, especially in restaurants, to try to help visiting Americans help. I don’t feel the U.S. does the same for Spaniards.
I could talk forever about Spain, but I do need to catch some rest so I do not miss my flight. Spain has changed my life forever and now I can’t wait to travel the world and see everything else. I really don’t want to go back tomorrow, but I guess you can’t live in paradise forever. Well, until next time Spain. Hasta luego!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb