Day Eight


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 20th 2011
Published: July 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Now that I am on a regular schedule, my sleeping pattern has been good. I woke up early enough to eat breakfast and take a nice warm shower. Today we started the day off by visiting El Mundo. Jennifer was supposed to take us, but she sadly was sick and Cesar took us. El Mundo was a very intriguing place. Rather than having just one newspaper, El Mundo produces five. I do not remember all the names of them, but my favorite one was Marca. This is the sports newspaper. When we toured where Marca does all of its work at, we discovered that over 80 percent of their effort goes strictly to soccer. This is huge because in America we cover almost every sport to a tee. To be able to focus strictly on one sport basically, in my perspective, makes their jobs a lot easier. On another hand, it shows how much soccer is important to the Spanish culture; to put that much emphasis on one sport shows what truly entertains the people of the country. As we went through the rest of the news rooms it was just interesting to get the feel of a newspaper company. It’s laidback, but serious all at once. I actually liked it.

We left El Mundo and I was super excited because I knew where we were going next. The Real Madrid is my favorite club soccer team and Christiano Renaldo is my favorite player. When we arrived at the stadium, I was ecstatic. I knew this is where I was going to take most of my pictures at. When we got inside of the stadium there was like a museum of all the past to the present soccer teams and trophies they won. From what I saw, The Real Madrid has been way more than a successful franchise. There were trophies galore down there. The coolest trophy was from this year, when they won the championship in April. I actually seen the game at home and was thrilled that they won. To see it in person was mind blowing. Then when we got to the field I was in awe. I did not know this, but the field is made of real grass. I thought it was artificial for the longest time. This hands down was my favorite part of the entire trip. Just being there made my whole year.

Visiting the Real Madrid and eating food after pretty much ended my whole day. We ate at a pizza place that was really good. Like I have stated before, it all taste so fresh. We all headed back to the hotel and it is now time for bed. Nighty night!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.017s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb