Day Five


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 17th 2011
Published: July 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well I slept in today, too bad that I had to exchange that for waking up 5 minutes before we had to head out to the museum. At least I slept throughout the whole night for the first time! I swear if it is not one thing it is another.

Once we got to the Prado museum I was all the way awake and ready for the day. The museum was very interesting. At the beginning of our tour, our guide stated that the Prado was the third best in the world and number one in painting collections. I found out during the tour that there are two different sets of arts in the museum. One is the permanent set. These paintings and figures do not leave the floor or move. The second set is the changeable sets. Sometimes there will be a featured artist or just a change up for the month or week. Before today, I had no idea that this was the case. My favorite painting in the gallery was a black painting called Saturn Devouring His Son. This was by Francisco Goya. This probably wasn’t the best looking painting, but I have always seen it in art books and it was so cool to see it in real life. I was kind of upset we couldn’t take pictures again, but the art was really cool. Another piece I liked was The Garden of Earthly Delights by Hieronymus Bosch. It was a three piece painting and I have never seen that before. The colors of the painting were really bright and popped out. What got me though was the concept of the painting. The first part of the painting was the peace and purity, the second was the earthly realm and lastly was hell. I think he was very bold to make a painting like that during that time error. There were a lot of others, but those two were my two top pickings.

We went to the hotel afterwards and had to immediately get all of our stuff out the rooms. This was disappointing because I planned to take a nap. Once we all moved out I actually received a nap in the hotel lobby. As soon as I woke up it was time to hit the road for San Lorenzo del Escorial. We packed up are things and then hit the road.

Once we got to San Lorenzo del Escorial was a very relaxing rest of the day. We walked around the town a bit and then got some food at a local restaurant. At dinner we all shared food and I tried blood sausage. I really did not care for it because of its soft texture and after I found out that it was made of blood, I was not to happy. After dinner we headed for drinks and then all the girls wanted to go out so I watched over them for the night. What was hilarious was in the club we went to, the guys dance on each other with no problem at all. To me that is so awkward, but I guess that is where there is a big difference in cultures. I still had fun at the club and the girls were keeping me entertained. Well that is it for today, can’t wait till tomorrow. Hasta manana!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb