¡Adios, Madrid!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 4th 2011
Published: June 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

1. Hostel1. Hostel1. Hostel

My bed at the hostel. I was on the top level. ¡Que peligroso!
Wednesday, June 15, 2011 - This will be short because it's been about a week and a half since I left Madrid and I don't remember all little anecdotes:

If you remember, I was unable to visit El Museo de Traje on Thursday, June 3rd. Friday, I had to catch the 2 pm train to Sevilla so, I didn't have a lot of time to do much in Madrid. After talking with an American family, who had gone to see the museum, I decided that this was the last thing I'd do in Madrid. (I wanted it to be something that would be worth it!)

I woke up a little later than I had intended, but had packed everything the night before so, it was okay. I just got up, got ready, and rushed over to the museum, which was a pretty far trek, even after taking the metro. :/ The family was right, though. They had an incredible exhibit!

They, basically, showed how clothes had changed from.. eh... a lot time ago (my English is failing me?) to recent times. It was fascinating and so pretty! Unfortunately, as with most places, I found that I was unable
2. Hostel2. Hostel2. Hostel

I shared the room with a group of four super young Americans, an American girl going solo, & two Australians. (Not as fishy as it sounds, I swear.)
to take photos. 😞 There were handouts, though, and I took all of them. It'd be good to put in a scrapbook if, you know, I ever get around to that.

After the museum, I had to rush back to the hostel. I gave myself until about noon to see the museum so, naturally, I left there at about 12:30, heh. On my way there, some old dude hit on me, which was really weird... He was asking if I worked in Madrid, etc., etc. and I just said (in Spanish), "I'm only here for a few hours. I'm going to Sevilla, today." After that, he left me alone, but kept staring at me. Awkward. :/ ¡Porfa, hombre! Quiero un esposo, no un abuelo. :/

Once I made it to the hostel, I rushed back to the metro, got to the train station, picked up my bags from the security locker, got a burger from Burger King (For shame, I know!), and made my way to the train platform. It was pretty smooth, except for the fact that my bags are freaking heavy. :/ Oh, well. I'll call it cardio or strength training.

I slept for most of the train ride so, there aren't many photos. What few I did take will go into the next entry. I will try to finish that, tomorrow.

Again, I hope that everyone is doing well and can't live without me!


Courtney

P.S. - This heat is killer. :/


Additional photos below
Photos: 53, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

5. Hostel5. Hostel
5. Hostel

Can I point out how my area is the neatest?
6. Museo de Traje6. Museo de Traje
6. Museo de Traje

The beginning of a museum about the history of clothing!


Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb