I love you, Spain! Let's get married and make babies.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 1st 2011
Published: June 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Miami - 5/31/11Miami - 5/31/11Miami - 5/31/11

Arriving in Miami. You can see the ocean.
I want to start at the beginning, but I'm afraid that there isn't much to say about the plane ride(s). There's only one photo because, well,... you can't really take a photo of turbulence that occurs in the middle of the night or the sheer terror that grips you. Jesus! I was having a nice, little slumber and I woke up to this terrible jerking. One guy ran to the back of the plane to throw up and I was clutching onto my seat thinking about how horrible it would be to have to float about in the Atlantic and, my God, what would happen to my things! Some older (30-ish?) Spaniard was sitting next to me and I was thisclose to reaching over and yelling, "Dame la mano! (Give me your hand!)" And that wasn't even the only time. Jeez. Actually, I think for a moment he was thinking of doing the same, haha.

(Speaking of him (the only other interesting part of the flight), he smelled good. I don't know if it was cologne or what, but it wasn't overpowering. He had this light, clean smell like soap, but with a hint of lavender. I could smell it
Just arriving to MadridJust arriving to MadridJust arriving to Madrid

No clue. Just wanted to take photos of the city on my cab ride, but I ended up watching to make sure he didn't kill us, lol.
every time he moved and I sniffed the air a bit like a puppy. Y'all don't judge me; it's not my fault. Walking in the streets, today, I realized (again) that Spanish men in general smell really good. They have cologne down to a science, because it's always just a hint that you get a whiff of when they walk by or when you're standing by them in the metro. ♥)

Once I arrived in Madrid, everything was pretty easy. I got a cab to Atocha (the train station I'll depart from on Saturday) to leave my luggage with security & pick up my Madrid tourism card. Then, I took another cab to my hostel. This was expensive and probably the wrong idea, but damn, my stuff was heavy and I just didn't think I could deal with the metro just yet. Anyway, I had mini-conversations with the cabbies, though to be honest I had a hard time understanding a lot of what they said. :/ But it was good practice. The first one left me saying, "Adios, mi amor!" (haha) and the second praised my Spanish & pronunciation. Soy Courtney, la amiga de los conductores del taxis!

After getting to the hostel, I went out for a walk in the city. It was pretty aimless at first because I didn't know what I wanted to do. Well, after finding the protesters' campsite in Puerta del Sol and seeing that there wasn't much to the area (for me), I decided to just brave it and take the metro to Real Madrid's football stadium. It was, actually, really easy. There are maps & signs all over the place so, I didn't once take the wrong train. (I'm quite proud of myself, actually!)

I was excited to see Santiago Bernabéu, but that quickly dissapated. No offence to Madristas, but it was like the tour that just would not end! I mean, I know it must be exciting if you're a fan of the team (there were a group of kids that squealed at every turn), but guhhhh... I just wanted to get out of there after a while. :/ And what a scam that they show you the visitors' locker room; not the actual team's! (They should take a page out of Mestalla's book, ahem.)

The most amusing part, I think, is that they have a green screen,
Madrid - 6/1/11Madrid - 6/1/11Madrid - 6/1/11

300 thousand child soldiers We have to find a solution
where you can pretend that you took a photo with your favorite player. The girl asked who I wanted and my mind went blank! I asked who they offered and she acted like everyone was on there so, I chose Raúl Albiol (ex-Valencia CF player, haha) but she lied! They didn't have him and then, I couldn't think of who else was on the team! She kept saying, "Just pick someone, just pick someone." I guess I was supposed to pick someone obvious like Cristiano or Kaka, but mehhh...

In the end, one of the other workers came along and said, "Raúl?" (One name Raúl = Raúl Gonzalez Blanco) I was all, "Ooooh... yes!" because he's the most beautiful man in the world. Later, though, it occured to me that I could have chosen Sergio Ramos and had a good laugh every time I looked at it. I don't know why he cracks me up, ha. Anyway, this is fine, too. I can just say that I went to Bernabéu, got in their time machine, went back to when he was with the team, and took a photo with him. Logic!

After that, I returned to the hostel
Madrid - 6/1/11Madrid - 6/1/11Madrid - 6/1/11

SHREK THE MUSICAL?! Why haven't I heard of this before?!
to check in and then, went back out to look for the royal palace. Unfortunately, it was closed, but the security guard said that it'll be open again, tomorrow. So, that's on my to-do list for sure. I have looked through the Madrid tourist guide that I got with my tourism card and have picked a lot of things that I want to do. We'll see if I can get it all done before I leave on Saturday, eek.

Oh, funny Spain stories:

- A homeless guy stopped me and just started chatting about this and that. When he found out I could speak English, he started telling me about how O'bama grew up here. "In that red building over there." lol. THEN, of course, he started begging me for money. Some Spanish guy came along and poked him from behind then, ran off. I took my chance to walk away. (I feel like a horrible person for not giving him money, but hell, I need my money!) Anyway, as I was walking away, I heard Spanish guy yelling, "Guapa, guapa!" Ehhhh.... I just kept walking, haha. I doubt he was yelling at me, but after getting rid
Madrid - 6/1/11Madrid - 6/1/11Madrid - 6/1/11

Just a cute dog.
of one guy, I didn't want to pick up another.

- When in the streets, I saw a dad walking with his son (3 maybe) and daughter (younger & in a stroller). The little boy was talking into his dad's phone and the dad was telling him what to say: "Hola, mama. Te quiero, mama. ¿Que haces, mama?" The little boy repeated everything that the dad said, which was just adorable! This cuteness kept on as we were walking along and then, the dad said, "Te amo, mama. ....Cabrona (it's a cuss word)! haha, no no no... no cabrona." hahahaha, that cracked me up so much. Oh, and that was the point when I realized that mama was probably not on the line. :D

Okay, I think that's it! I hope that everyone is doing well and missing me like mad! I have to confess that I feel quite comfortable here. I'm not nervous or afraid; just ready to take on whatever adventures that comes my way. Not to sound ridic, but I really think that I came here for a reason. I mean, logically I understand that I bought the tickets and planned this, but I
Spanish Revolution!Spanish Revolution!Spanish Revolution!

Their campsite in Puerta del Sol.
think that there must be another reason that I needed to come back so badly & that everything falls into place so easily. When I get lost, I take a few turns & bam, I'm right where I should be! I think that this is going to be one of those learning/growing trips and I'm ready. Something's coming, I know it. I can feel it in my bones.


Courtney


Additional photos below
Photos: 76, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

Spanish Revolution!Spanish Revolution!
Spanish Revolution!

Signs by the protestors/revolutionaries(?)
Spanish revolution!Spanish revolution!
Spanish revolution!

Signs by the protestors/revolutionaries(?)
Tour BernabéuTour Bernabéu
Tour Bernabéu

Santiago Bernabéu, Real Madrid's stadium.
Tour BernabéuTour Bernabéu
Tour Bernabéu

View from the top.
Tour BernabéuTour Bernabéu
Tour Bernabéu

View from top 2.
Tour BernabéuTour Bernabéu
Tour Bernabéu

View of the city from the stadium
Tour BernabéuTour Bernabéu
Tour Bernabéu

One of the many wall murals of past teams.
Tour BernabéuTour Bernabéu
Tour Bernabéu

One of the many wall murals.
Tour BernabéuTour Bernabéu
Tour Bernabéu

One of the many wall murals.
Tour BernabéuTour Bernabéu
Tour Bernabéu

Entrance to trophy room or something.
Madrid - 6/1/11Madrid - 6/1/11
Madrid - 6/1/11

Tour Bernabéu


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb