A red-head, a blonde and a brunette get on a train...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
July 11th 2008
Published: July 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So a red-head, a brunette and a blonde get on a train... or at least they try. On Friday afternoon, after getting out for the day, Sarah, Blair and I head to the Renfe Train Station (which is about 12 metro stops from our dorm) to catch the 2 pm train to Sevilla. Let's just say everything started off wrong - we left the dorm late, we missed the first train... and then the best part. I go to exchange our tickets for a later train and find out that there are only two left - one at 8 pm or one at 10 pm. Not wanting to pay double the fair for a premium seat on the 8 pm train, we opt for the 10 pm train.

Now in here somewhere my wallet was lost/taken. I prefer to think taken. Anyway, my money, credit cards and calling card are all gone. We ask around but no one has seen my wallet - we report the incident to the Police, and they laugh. I get numbers to call my credit card companies to have the cards reported lost and replaced. The police let me use their phone, but after a little while, one of the police officers unplugs the phone and tell me that I need to leave.

A few hours later I finish getting everything fixed - and the verdict is that American Express will give me an emergency card, but Bank of America tells me that I am SOL - they don't have an emergency card service, they wont mail me a card in Spain, and they wont allow KC to pick one up if I fax them a signed statement authorizing it. Oh - and VISA has an emergency cash program too, but Bank of America doesn't subscribe to it. Freaking fantastic. It's a good thing that I have my old Wells Fargo account open still because BofA is not willing to help me out.

Anyway, I just have to go to the airport to get the replacement card and then my dorm to get the other debit card and some cash. But by the time we get back to the train station, we missed the 10 pm train... by 1 minute. We change our tickets again and now we're leaving at 7:30 in the morning. Since this was everything leading up to the trip, I figured that I needed to keep it separate so that no bad mojo interferes with the rest of the weekend.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb