JAMON Y HUEVOS


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 25th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Madrid Firefighters of courseMadrid Firefighters of courseMadrid Firefighters of course

Of course I had to find my men in uniform.
Hola!

So I thought I went to London, but I went to Gatwick which is like going to Fremont and thinking you are in San Francisco. Apparently Heathrow is the real London, not Gatwick. I'll let you know when I really make it to London.

I did, however, have the pleasure of meeting a delightful lesbian couple on the Gatwick flight. One of them is a radio host in London for the "Lisa Jane Love Hour". Apparently if I so desired, I could now go through the online archives and listen to Hotel California being dedicated to me. You're jealous I know. Admit it.

Disclaimer: George, Harriet, Therese, and any other card carrying PETA members, probably you don't want to read any further about my trip to Madrid.

Ah Madrid.
Fun facts:
~I HEARD it is difficult to find vegetables on the tapas menu in Madrid other than "ensalada". If you are looking for some fiber after eating airplane food, I suggest you pack metamucil. That's just what I HEARD. I wouldn't know first hand of course.

~It is easy to find ham or "jamon" since there are big pig leg/hooves/feet hanging on the walls in
jamonjamonjamon

hooves/feet/legs
every restaurant and tavern.

~If you are like me and don't really drink beer, you can order a "clara" which is basically draft beer mixed with Sprite or lemon soda. Say it with me: "CLOD-AH".

~If you see two men speaking to each other loudly in Spanish and they look drunk and one starts gesturing wildly and yells, "Coño," it is best to move away from the area because chances are a bar brawl is about to ensue.

My intent on visiting Madrid was to catch the train to Plaza Mayor which is a big shopping dining area. Another flight attendant and I were to walk from the hotel, around the bullfight arena to the train station. Instead, the captain "happened" to run into us and suggested that we all go to the bullfight. Two poor flight attendants were offered the option of free entertainment and gladly accepted.

The Captain had already met two American students traveling around Europe, one of which spoke Spanish, and some kind of way we ended up with tickets to the bull fight from a scalper. Sadly, we couldn't get 5 tickets all seated together, so the other FA and I
juevosjuevosjuevos

Mr Fancy Pants and his juevos
got to sit together and the Captain had to sit alone. SCORE! Oops, I meant to say DARN!

Here's the thing. I don't claim to be a hard-core animal rights activist. I do enjoy a good meat-filled meal and I am all about a fierce pair of knee-high leather boots with the purse to match. And, of course, what is fabulosity without fur? I am Chinese, after all. BUT, on the other hand, I do love my Roofie and Shortie. Even though I don't let them in the house.

I said all that to say that I guess I do love animals a bit more than I thought because there is something really WRONG with celebrating the slaughter of SIX bulls and eating snacks sitting in an arena watching like it's a football game or something.

First of all, the bull fighter doesn't kill the bull. He just finishes off the bull. About 3 or 4 people taunt, torture and stab the bull with spears and such before the "bull fighter" even comes out. The poor bull is worn out before Mr. Fancy Pants even enters the ring. A fair fight would be a virile, young bull,
How many bullfighters does it take...How many bullfighters does it take...How many bullfighters does it take...

That guy on the horse is stabbing the bull with his spear and the other guys will continue by stabbing the white thingies in the bull's back.
uninjured against one lone bull fighter.

Second, those fancy pants are way too tight. I should not be able to see his business (his JUEVOS) way up in the stands where I was sitting.

Third, those bull fighters are just a tad bit feminine in their movements. Just a tad. OK, actually more than a tad.

After the first bull fight, I was pretty much done with the whole thing. It's not fun to watch an animal murdered for sport. I'm not into it. It's really not fun to sit through SIX bulls being murdered. I know it's part of their culture and all that, and I did see and appreciate the "art of the dance", but I'll be just fine if I never see another bull fight again in life.

Attend a real live bull fight in Spain can now be checked off the list of stuff I did in my life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Action shotAction shot
Action shot

Those things in his back were white originally but are stained with red blood.
StandoffStandoff
Standoff

Before he goes in for the finish.
Poor bull.Poor bull.
Poor bull.

One of six that died unneccessarily that day.


26th June 2008

So sad
I'm so sad now.
27th June 2008

Umm...
Ok, why was I waiting the read the UP side of this trip and there wasn't one to read about?? Wassup with that? And yeah...those pics were disturbing to SEE...I can't imagine what it was like in real life. Eww...poor bulls.
3rd July 2008

Running of the Bulls
Considering the fact that I am deeply obsessed with this sport, (and plan on actually going to Spain to watch it). I'm hating right about now. Great pictures.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb