We Just Have More Fun


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
October 30th 2007
Published: October 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After another weekend in Madrid, I’m enjoying the tranquil life in Segovia. Iñigo came to pick me up in Segovia on Friday, and we went to Madrid to celebrate his friend’s birthday. I got to meet all “the guys,” each one a distinct and amusing character, but all very courteous as well. Although I was the only girl in the group, they made sure to make me feel comfortable and included.

We lounged around a bit on Saturday, and then Iñigo cooked me dinner at his house. I was pretty impressed with his knowledge in the kitchen! Later that afternoon I went to watch his soccer game at a field in South Madrid. He plays on a league with all his friends, which made it that much more fun because I already knew everybody. I sat on the sidelines with Rodrigo, a lanky, goofy guy, and watched as their team got pummeled. At one point the ball hit the goalie in the face and his eye puffed up quite a bit. Rodrigo caught the incident on his video camera and we watched it in slow motion a few times just for laughs. After the game we all went out for a post game drink at a nearby bar. That night Iñigo and I met up with Rodrigo, Jordi, a long-haired Buddhist with the biggest heart, his sister Gloria and her friend. We went out to dinner at a sushi restaurant and then to a salsa club in the heart of Madrid. I was thrilled to experience in one night two of the things I had been missing most: sushi and salsa.

Early Sunday morning Breezy came to Madrid and met Iñigo, Jordi, and me at Juan March, a museum in Madrid. We had to go there for an assignment for our art class, and since Iñigo knows quite a bit about art, he was able to help us a little with our homework. After that we went to El Rostro, an open-air market, and then for a little lunch of calamari, tortilla Espanola, and empanadas. We ended the weekend with a stroll in El Parque del Retiro where we watched various acts of dancers, musicians, magicians, and a fabulous clown!

But Jordi tells me that these are nothing compared to the performers I’ll see on the streets of Barcelona when I go next week!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb