The Second Half of the Week


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
July 7th 2007
Published: July 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Spanish people stare. A lot. And they don´t look away when you look back at them. Today, on the subway, there was a guy sitting across from me. When I looked at him, he was looking at me, and didn´t look away. So I just stared back. We had an unofficial staring contest. (Just so you know, I won) But it was the weirdest thing.

Yesterday, the school threw a party at a bar/club in Sol. Free drinks for 2 hours. Well, free sangria and beer for 2 hours. We got there early, and walked around the streets nearby for a little while and got a glass Sangria (gratis tambien) from another bar before we went in. The first free sangria was good. The stuff in the other bar, no era muy bueno. So yeah.

Today was the last day of class for this week in Madrid. We finally did some grammar that I needed to know. We moved past "I´m going to the store," and onto "This morning, I ate breakfast." Tomorrow, we´re going to Segovia. Rumor has it that the castle there is the one that Walt Disney modeled his Cinderella castle after. So that´s pretty exciting. And then on Sunday, vamos a Alicánte y la playa. I can´t wait for the beach, sigh...

We tried to find a movie to watch in English this afternoon, no dice. The only movies in English were in Barcelona, and we, obviously are not.

And the lady that I stay with still talks a lot. And I still can´t understand her for the life of me. Maybe the next family will speak slower, or at least not slur the words.

Buenos Noches mis amores
Jordan

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb