Humble beginnings


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
May 24th 2007
Published: May 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Finally, I´m free!

Grandma, Aunt Beaver, and I left for the airport at 4:30 yesterday morning. It seems like most of my trip was spent waiting at an airport; traffic was light and I ended up waiting in Tulsa for over an hour. The plane we took to Newark was about this big: ·-------------· I loved every minute of it, even if I will be walking a little crooked for several days. Interesting note: my backpack does not fit in the overhead compartments of any but the biggest planes, nor does it fit under the seat. If I hadn´t payed attention, I could have easily lost a knee to the drink cart (sharp corners, you know).

The landing at Newark was uneventful, but I enjoyed listening to the kid behind me point out all the highlights of the New York skyline. Soon after arrival, I was bored. For exercise, I walked laps around the edge of the Continental terminal. You can only see certain things so many times, you know? Luckily, a couple of hours in, I found out that the Euro Championship was being played on TV, and I had just happened to pass a sports bar back there somewhere . . . . So, for two hours, I enjoyed myself immensely. I wasn´t the only one there; there were a couple of guys that very Irish and somewhat English, respectively. A couple of Indians, and a few bored white people, and a guy I think was German filled in the gaps. I felt very (unjustifiably) European sitting at a bar in the middle of the day and watching a soccer game. I brought my own peanuts 😊 After the game, however, I realized that I still had four hours to kill. I did every sudoku and crossword puzzle I could lay my hands on, walked laps, and got a massage. Finally, the witching hour arrived (read, first call for boarding) and I changed all my money to monopoly money, I mean . . . Euros. The plane ride to Madrid was my first overnighter ever. I wonder what the poor Spanish chap next to me thought of my style of sleeping: shoulders forward, mouth WIDE open. My jaw hurt this morning. A lot.

There will be more musings on . . . you know, deep stuff. Pictures and video too. Right now, though, my prepaid internet time is almost up. I just barely have time to spell chekc . . .

Advertisement



24th May 2007

Howdy
Hello Joseph, I am glad you made it there safely. Keep Blogging!
26th May 2007

Yay Joseph!
I'm happy to see you've made this travel blog. I look forward to reading up on your travels. I got to Raleigh today and watched a pro-only criterium in downtown Raleigh, which was pretty sweet. I move in to my apartment tomorrow.
31st May 2007

sweet!
Jeby, I am so excited for you!!!! I can't wait to read about your adventures!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb