It's been a month already....


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
February 8th 2007
Published: February 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Jenna's Birthday!!!Jenna's Birthday!!!Jenna's Birthday!!!

Last Thursday Jenna turned 26...she will hate me for saying that, but how else could I explain the reason she is holding a cake up for the camera!!
Actually, I passed the one month mark last weekend!!! Everyday I get more comfortable here in Madrid. I am learning the ins and outs of the city, well, at least the part of the city that I live in. I apologize for not writing all that much lately, but things have not been all that exciting. That probably doesn't sound good...what I mean is things are becoming more routine, so I do not want to bore any of you with the same stories over and over.

My schedule has changed quite a bit in the last week. Last Friday, I took my final exam for my TEFL course, so now I am focusing more on my teaching/tutoring. The course was very helpful and it provided me with a bunch of new ideas that I will be able to use here and when I return to the comfy confines of Dean Tech (whenever that is). I have to admit, though, I am happy the course is finished because between teaching and going to class all day (9am-3pm) there was not much time to do much else. My schedule at the moment is IDEAL!!!! Monday thru Wednesday are long days, but at the moment I am off Thurs thru Sunday. There is a ton of planning and preparation for all of my classes, so I try to use Thursday and Friday to get that out of the way....doesn't always work though!! Also, I had an interview with another language center this week and it appears that they are going to provide me with some hours. The best part of that is that they pay better than the company I am working for now!!! Very important as you all know!! Plus, they provide all the materials I will need to teach their clients. Hopefully, by next week my schedule is set. I would love to find a couple of private lessons as well, but I think those will come in time. My main objective is to make enough money to survive and enjoy my time here.

On the homefront (sp?), our apartment is now full....and I mean FULL!!! It is myself and the Kaeppel sisters, a Swedish gal, a Swedish guy, a Mexican guy, an English guy, and two girls who just moved in, I believe they are from Austria (one said something about Italy, but I think she was just there
Bora Bora.....Bora Bora.....Bora Bora.....

Friday night we went to a Tiki bar for a couple of Scorpion bowls for the birthday girl. That is Nate (from South Hadley) next to Jenna. The straws were enormous!!
before coming here...I could def be wrong). We are pretty much the UN!! Like I have said in previous blogs the set up is not exactly ideal, but it works. I refuse to complain because I am only paying 300 euros, which is very cheap in Madrid. The problem is that there is only ONE shower for all of us....suprisingly it really hasn't been a problem yet, but as you would expect I am sure at some point it will be. Well, I think that is about it for the time being I really just wanted to check in and say hello to everyone! I hope everyboday is doing well and staying warm....that is the one thing I do not miss!!

Oh yea, as some of you know, I have turned into a bit of a lumberjack since my arrival in Spain...I am sporting a pretty ridiculous beard so check out a couple random pics from the last couple of weeks because this thing is coming off this weekend....sorry to disappoint you Gainer and Dearborn!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Like I said...Like I said...
Like I said...

the straws are huge and the beard is ridiculous!!
Beware....Beware....
Beware....

of the Scorpion bowls!!
Post-Bora BoraPost-Bora Bora
Post-Bora Bora

the girls, me and Jose (Meg D's boyfriend)
The whole gang....The whole gang....
The whole gang....

with some TEFL classmates making appearances as well...
More street art....More street art....
More street art....

this is all too common in Madrid!
Posing with some street are...Posing with some street are...
Posing with some street are...

Jose is teaching my all the ins and outs of the street art "game"!!
Closing time....Closing time....
Closing time....

end of the night group shot!!


13th February 2007

I cant wait to come visit!!! I love the pix with Nate!
13th February 2007

spelling
Good grief!! I meant chic, C-H-I-C, good thing I am an English teacher.
21st February 2007

Increible
Ah.. para verte disfrutando de la vida alla.. que bueno.. me siento muy emocionada para ti.. y tus amigos.. USA EL ESPANOL.. estas el el MEDIO del mundo hispano..HAY QUE USARLO CADA DIA para tu senora.. Mil abrazos... Sra. F

Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb