So Much to Do and So Little Time


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 11th 2019
Published: June 11th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Living my DreamLiving my DreamLiving my Dream

It was so cool to be able to experience a European futbol game!
GGGOOOAAALLL!!!

I got to go to a Spain versus Sweden fĂștbol game at the Santiago Bernabeu Stadium. The crowd was constantly cheering, and the entire stadium was packed. "Culture Smart" said it best, "As in most European countries, soccer reigns" (p. 117). Having grown up playing soccer, this was up my alley. The great experience took a little bit of a sour turn, however. A fan was standing in front of me for an extended period of time, claiming I was in his seats. I was not, and instead of moving down the row, he turned and stood in front of me. I said, "Excuse, I can't see." He then sat on top of us deliberately. I felt intimidated by the situation. He dampened my mood for the rest of the game.

Time to Switch

Our group took a day trip to Segovia this week. While there, we toured the city. There were many groups along our tour, including young school children. I bumped into a child in a group, and he said "Lo siento". I overheard their teachers say to each other, "After this room, we should switch to English". In the next room, I accidentally bumped
For the memoriesFor the memoriesFor the memories

This scarf will be a great reminder of an amazing night.
into another child, and this time, to my amazement, he apologized in English. We take Spanish classes at home, but I wish the education system pushed us to become fluent like many teachers and schools do here. It would definitely help in communicating while abroad and increase my overall well-roundedness.

Need for food

Following some economic troubles, Segovia has rebounded thanks to their industrial advances in agriculture and tourism (Insights Spain, p. 157-158). Our tour guide was telling us about the large, white beans that the region is famous for. She also informed us that Segovia is the main producer of Spain's whiskey, DYC. The agriculture and tourism that the city experiences have helped it rebound from economic depression, and made it a great day trip option for tourists like us! It was fun to hear about the local produce and see how we were making a difference in their economy.

Words- 348


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

SegoviaSegovia
Segovia

A beautiful stop on our tour of Segovia
SegoviaSegovia
Segovia

Our tour took us through a cathedral, a castle, and a pretty cute part of town!
On top of the HillOn top of the Hill
On top of the Hill

From the top of the castle, we were able to see the town and fields of Segovia.
Aqueducts Aqueducts
Aqueducts

The aqueducts are a landmark of Segovia, surviving since the time of the Romans.


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb