Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia
June 8th 2011
Published: June 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sagrada FamiliaSagrada FamiliaSagrada Familia

Follow the traditional-looking columns up from the foor to the modern ceiling of this basilica.
Last night we realized with a shock that the train berth we thought we´d reserved for an overnight trip to Barcelona turned out to be just an upright seat--thanks again, crummy Spanish train employees. So we sat in seats all night for the trip, about 10 hours. That meant we landed in Barcelona pretty groggy. And that presented a perfect opportunity for a trio of pickpockets to jostle me on the Metro. Two of them staged a scene in front of me, blocking my access to the train car where Brian was waiting for me. Apparently the third was unzipping my backpack while this was going on. Even though my brain was addled, I knew something wasn´t quite right so I kept moving around, shuffling back and forth trying to get past them. When I finally got to Brian, he noticed my iPod was lying on the floor and my bag was unzipped. Of course, the trio had scurried off the train just before the doors shut. We checked everything over thoroughly when we got the hotel, and apparently nothing is missing. I guess my moving back and forth kept them from getting what they wanted.

When we arrived at
CrucifixCrucifixCrucifix

The crucifix above the altar at Sagrada Familia, Gaudi´s masterpiece in Barcelona.
the hotel, almost the first thing out of the clerk´s mouth was a warning about pickpockets in Barcelona. Her face wore a really pissed expression when we told her what had just happened to us. The more nasty stories that get out about Barcelona pickpockets, the more it cuts into her income due to reduced tourists. From now on, I´m wearing my backpack on the front, as in "frontpack."

I´m typing this in the hotel waiting room at night, and there are other people waiting for me to finish using the computer, so I won´t upload any photos just now but rather will add to this post at a later date. After Brian did laundry and I took a nap, we traveled to two Gaudi sites. By Gaudi I mean the famous Spanish architect. The first was a public building, and the second was the magnificent cathedral known as the Sagrada Familia. Oh my lord. The exterior didn´t impress me much, but the interior was jaw-dropping. Gaudi incorporated many natural forms in his designs for the cathedral, and his mathematical calculations to support the weight of this edifice were impressive. What impressed me most was the way his design
Stained glassStained glassStained glass

Even the stained glass windows at Sagrada Familia are unusual. They combine modern glass designs inside a highly traditional form.
incorporated traditional medieval cathedral elements into a very, very modern form. The effect is stunning, like nothing you´ve ever seen before no are likely to see again soon. The cathedral is not finished, either, but will likely take another 20 years to complete. Pics to follow in a day or two.

For the evening meal we stopped at a little tapas bar that was hopping. You had to stand in front of the bar - no seating. We ordered a couple of beers and just grabbed whatever looked good off the plates in front of us. We met a family that had just arrived in Barcelona from Brazil, and enjoyed speaking with them. Tapas places are so much fun, especially when you get a good one. I´m going to miss them a little in France, which we hope to travel to tomorrow, if I still have a passport after running the gauntlet of pickpockets in the train and Metro stations.

Rebecca


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

PillarsPillars
Pillars

Gaudi was inspired by trees when designing the pillars inside the basilica--look at the branching tops. There are 3 or 4 different types of pillars. The pillar columns are traditional, while the knots and branching tops are modern.
TapasTapas
Tapas

Our tapas bar in Barcelona. It was self-service. We loved everything we ate, and we ate a lot.


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb