Scratching Barcelona off the bucket list


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
June 14th 2017
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post



Ever since seeing the movie Vicky Cristina Barcelona a few years ago, visiting the enchanting city of Barcelona was on the top of my bucket list. I knew it wouldn’t be so easy to achieve this goal I set for myself because of my poor financial situation.

So, to keep me on my track, I turned to researching about all the city has to offer as a motivation of some sort. To my surprise it turned out to be effective, because, three years later I was walking off the pavements of the Palau Square I had read about.

The first thing on my see-the-sights itinerary was to witness one of Gaudí's most famous works - La Sagrada Familia. Standing in front of this truly magnificent building, I couldn’t help but be in awe. Its grandness and loud style was truly breathtaking.

Next on my designed trip was seeing Barcelona from the bird’s eye view at Tibidabo Amusement Park. The journey started with a ride that took me to the top of Tibidabo mountain, where I was rewarded with magnificent views of Barcelona. During my train ride I fell in love with the old Spanish conductor who was the epitome of a typical Spanish old school charm. I was fortunate enough that the weather was perfect that day, so my Instagram was flooded with the most amazing pictures.

The last thing I had time to see from my agenda was the Palau de la Música Catalana music hall which inspired me to decorate my apartment in a similar distinctive and ornate style. I had reservations as to should I pay for the inside visit of the hall. But bearing in mind all what I had read about its interior, I had to and it was worth every cent. The English speaking tour lasted for approximately fifty minutes. It was really confusing getting around in the building, especially for me and my lack of orientation, so it took me some time to find my bearings. Luckily all I had to do was follow the amazing tour guide.

Given the fact that my see-the-sights itinerary was too long for such a short trip, I decided to spend the rest of my trip relaxing at Barcelona’s famous beach bars. And boy, was that a good decision. There is where I actually got to know the Spanish culture and my own Juan Antonio – the lead male character from the movie.



All in all, my trip to Barcelona was everything I had imagined it would be. The only thing I found difficult though was getting the right instructions as to the safest way to get from the airport to the hotel I was staying at. Finding the right bus was confusing for be given the fact that I didn’t speak the language and my space coordination is pretty much non-existent. Luckily, Barcelona is full of friendly people willing to help however they can, so they told me about Book Taxi Barcelona. I cannot describe my relief when all I had to do was show the address of my hotel, sit back in the air conditioned car and take in the first memories of my dream trip.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.402s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0951s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb