Seville, Granada, and Malaga Tambien!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
August 23rd 2006
Published: September 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am sorry for the lack O´Entries, but I have a been a busy girl.
Sarah arrived from Dubai on August 21st, and we started our 2-week fiesta en España!
We went to the beach in Malaga, for Tapas in the city centre- which was my first time without an interpretator there to order for me....ugh... gambas fritas y pan- fried prawns and bread. It was safe. At least we got what we ordered! HA HA
We took a drive down the coast to Toromellinos and partied with our flatmates, went to Granada to see the Allahambra, but we arrived too late, so we only saw the grounds- c´est la vie.
Seville was beautiful-there are pics attached, and I definatelty want to return to it again. On August 29th we did a group(Kefa, Sandra, Wanda, Sarah and I) road trip to Valencia(for the La Tomatina festival). After 6 hours of driving, and 2 hours of being lost, we found our hostel..... which, turned out to be a 4 Star hotel and closer to Buñol(where La Tomatina is held) than hostals in the city centre!
The tomato fight was SO much fun, but much different than I expected it to be!!
It doesnt start until someone retrives a ham-because this is Spain, on top of a greased(inch thick of pork fat) palm tree. It took 1 1/2 hours to get it this year!
After the gun is shot, there are people who spray the 40 000 people(it felt like less), with water, and about 10 minutes later, come THE TOMATOES.
At first it isnt that crazy- you will find a tomato here or there, but many guys start to rip people´s shirts off to throw them, along with the tomatoes. I got hit about 12 times in the head. I think that was the average rate.
You go hard, or you go home.... I had tomatoes shoved in my mouth, eyes, shirt... you name it. And at one point I think I was floating in the crowd, because there were so many people moving that I could just stand there and be moved around the street!
I will never forget the experience, but moreover, I will never forget the smell of dried tomatoes,
on a wet crowd,
of rowdy backpackers.
We totally justified those 9am 1/2 litre beers, Sarah.

We took it easy for the next 2 days
Malaga city Malaga city Malaga city

This is a park on route to the beach...
in Valencia, as all of us needed a break from travelling. And WALKING.
Oh how I miss my little blue Mazda(or Brayden Sustrick as Mi Amigos know him as!)
From Valencia, we took the train, meeting Joe from Montreal, and Diana from Sydney(AUS), to Barcelona.
Our hostel was a gong show- 3 bunk beds in a room big enough for a queen size bed and a chair...no keys for the doors, and the reception consisited of 3 guys chatting on MSN Behind a screen, in what looked like an old storage room. It forced us to sight see though, despite our head colds and lack of motivation to see that interesting and exciting city.
I got the pic I wanted, ok, that I dreamt of - in front of the Guadi-designed Sagrada Familia church. It is the famous church that you see in all the pics of Barcelona. I am sure you all know it.
I seriously still smile when I think of it.

From Barcelona, we took the night train, after too much spontaneously-poured-wine, to Madrid. Full of many historical buildings, sites, and a very complicated metro, Madrid was overwelming and exciting at the same time.
Aside from
Going to the Malaga CovesGoing to the Malaga CovesGoing to the Malaga Coves

There are 2 parts to the beach in Malaga-Malagueta the main beach and the Cove´s, which have better sand and less poeple.
that, and for those who don´t already know, it is the place of my new home!
I will start working as an AuPair(like a nanny, but less work) on Tuesday for a family living there. They have 2 kids- Mariola and Jorje- I talked to them on the phone for a minute, and they seem really smart. They have to be- they are almost completely bilingual!

I am so excited, but I could not have come this far for this long without all of your support.

XO XO XO
From Spain,

Jenna



Additional photos below
Photos: 76, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Malaga Cathedral at nightMalaga Cathedral at night
Malaga Cathedral at night

Unfortunately, I did take any pics of the restaurants and mini-plaza opposite the church- there is a fountain and 2 restaraunts which are surrounded by pink and yellow flats, with rod-iron balconies. Next time, kids.
Malaga FountainMalaga Fountain
Malaga Fountain

This is part of the plaza I just mentioned.
Cafe in SevilleCafe in Seville
Cafe in Seville

We stopped here for a midday beer, just across from the Plaza de Toros- a total gem of a cafe.
Seville CathedralSeville Cathedral
Seville Cathedral

Also featured in the next two pics


9th September 2006

so glad you are ok and enjoying it
hey girl i've read your journals, i'm so happy for you, and now with the job there has to be peace of mind! i miss you dispite that holly is also very nice but overall good for you I'm doing ok, lots of changes at home, long story.. hope this will make a change for the best, still to fresh i will let you know how it is going... many kisses for you, and stay happy, by the way was the dry tomato paste very itchy or was it beauty cream! love you Rosario
10th September 2006

That's nuts!
Looks like you had yourself quite the elaborate food fight! I can only hope that one day I get to experience La Tomatina for myself, your pics are great. Good luck in Madrid being an au pair, I hope those kids treat you well!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb