No straight lines and a Segway


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
August 7th 2014
Published: August 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I've become a fan of Antoni Gaudi, a famous Spanish architect. Although he has long since passed his legacy remains.
Ah what a luxury to have five nights in Barcelona, although our time went by very quickly. One of the reasons for a longer stay in this city was to check out the works of Gaudi. I have seen the pictures of these strangely designed buildings and knew they were 'Gaudi' buildings, but that was pretty much the extent of my knowledge.

Our first tour was to check out two of the most famous Gaudi buildings - Casa Batllò and Sagrada Famìlia. Casa Batllò is a four storey an apartment building and was redesigned by Gaudi in 1906. Although Casa Batllò is very much a major tourist attraction, there is still one resident who lives in the building - a little old lady who's identity is never disclosed. Interestingly today the owners of this building are the Chuppa Chup group.

Sagreda Famìlia is a still unfinished church, construction commenced in 1882. According to our tour guide the church is planned to be completed in 2026 in time for the 100th anniversary of Gaudi's death. I had seen pictures of this church and thought it quite grotesque looking, and it still is in a way, but the inside of the church is a whole other story! It is beautiful! Filled with light and colour. Gaudi had a love of nature and used this in his designs - there are no straight lines in Gaudi's architecture. I really like that concept!

The other Gaudi building we visited was Casa Milà This is another apartment block and is currently undergoing external restoration this year, but you can still go inside. One of the features of this building is the rooftop architecture. The inner courtyard was designed to let light into the apartments and for air flow. Remember these buildings were designed by Gaudi over 100 years ago - fascinating!

All trip I had been busting my fellow travellers chops to have a go on a Segway - they made me hold out until Barcelona! Mainly because I said that I'm not leaving Barcelona until it happens. So, the day before we fly to Athens off we go! What fun it was too, I'm definitely doing that again.

Our guide took us along the Barcelona waterfront where she showed us many interesting sights. When you've never ridden a Segway before, you really need to concentrate! Our tour took us past some very busy beaches (it's peak summer after all), what we didn't factor in was the topless sunbathers nor the nudist beach!! Hold the Segway is that guy stark nakey?? Oh yes, with quite a nice body to show off, and let me say he was taking care of business, no tan lines and not a patch of hair to be seen anywhere (possibly on his head but I wasn't looking there)!! And no, it wasn't then that time I almost crashed my Segway, it was after that when George yelled out to me 'hey Cath, have a look at that girl, she's got the biggest, roundest.......', so I turn my head to have a good look (I don't like to miss out), you shouldn't turn your head when Segwaying!! All good though, I didn't hit the little children or the terrified mum and I narrowly missed the tree! I didn't even hurt myself - lucky on that one! I was obviously born to ride a Segway - a natural I think! Will we do it again! Hell yeah! It was great fun!! Added bonus if we go by a nudey beach!

I can't finish this post without mentioning Pablo -it was here that we sadly bid Pablo farewell. We had all become attached to Pablo, he took us on a 5,911 kilometre journey from Munich through Europe to Barcelona, he got us lost a few times but was always waiting for us with his goofy grin each morning ready to take us safely to our next destination. Who knew we'd like a Citreon ...there you go ...


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Casa BatllòCasa Batllò
Casa Batllò

Fireplace
Pablo and George Pablo and George
Pablo and George

A tearful farewell
Casa BatllòCasa Batllò
Casa Batllò

The living room
Casa BattlòCasa Battlò
Casa Battlò

The upstairs hallway
Coloured glass Coloured glass
Coloured glass

Sagrada Famìlia
Gaudi architectureGaudi architecture
Gaudi architecture

Sagrada Famìlia
Internal roofInternal roof
Internal roof

Sagrada Famìla
Sagrada FamìliaSagrada Famìlia
Sagrada Famìlia

Can't stop touching
Sagrada FamìliaSagrada Famìlia
Sagrada Famìlia

Still touching


7th August 2014

What about the wine?
Great blog but no mention of food or wine? I like to know what you are sampling along the way. As for segways; I think I'll stick to motorbikes, much safer!
8th August 2014

WOW!
You just write so beautifully....we feel like we are there with you.......except no being able to taste the food you describe so well just like a food writer. You sound like you are having soooooo much fun!!!! xx

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb