Saturday in Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
July 5th 2014
Published: August 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It's Saturday and the city is abuzz with weekend travelers and Barcas alike, shopping, wandering, dining al fresco. What a beautiful city to walk in and get lost! My goal was the Picasso Museum and the Cathedral in the Barri Gotic, a few blocks from my hotel. First I went to the Cathedral, not Sagrada Familia, where I'd been before, but to the main Cathedral of St. Eulalia, HUGE, gothic, beautiful courtyard, many many altars, and a gorgeous specimen of the dedication of wealthy patrons of the Church in the 12th through 16th centuries. From there I headed to the Picasso Museum, but got sidetracked by a sidewalk cafe on a plaza, where I had a delightful lunch of mixed seafoods and salad. Never did find the museum, but found my way to the waterfront and walked back along there to La Rambla, and back to the hotel. My feet were tired so headed up to the rooftop pool to read for a while, and take in the gorgeous views of the city. The pool wasn't heated and felt refreshing in the 88 degree heat. After a refreshing beer it was siesta time, in the lovely air conditioned room. After cleaning up I headed back out to forage for dinner. Since it was quite early still, I went to La Boqueria de St. Josep, just a few blocks from the hotel. This enclosed marketplace has everything from fresh fruits and vegetables to fish and cured meats. Late in the afternoon it is abuzz with Spaniards collecting their evening meal. If you plan to buy some things for a picnic, know a few Spanish words before you buy, to help make the purchase quick for the vendor. Most of them don't speak 20 languages, including English, like "Me gustaria una rebonada,", "I would like a slice." or "me gustaria quarto kilo" which is about a half pound. I had some lovely Manchego cheese, Serrano ham and blackberries from the market, and felt pretty comfortable ordering with a few key phrases in my pocket. My translator app on my phone made it easy to prepare.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Saturday night festivities.Saturday night festivities.
Saturday night festivities.

Maybe a batchelorette party? Girls dressed in white with red flowers in their hair, clapping, singing, walking Las Ramblas, stopped at each stall to try to get something for free from the vendors.


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb