Chapter 2. Complete


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
October 12th 2010
Published: October 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I am with mixed emotions to be leaving Barcelona. I could have easily spent another few days in the city. It is colorful, lively, friendly, and my stomach finally adjusted to wine and some heavier foods! I was super sad to say goodbye to my mom today. We had a wonderful time together. I am happy to report that we didn’t kill each other (a concern for the both of us and close friends and family). Truth is, one of the woman we met annoyed the crap out of me so much as she couldn’t stop saying how everything was ‘just fabulous’ and how she had to top every single story anyone told. I tried my killing with kindness approach, but that didn’t change a thing. I then tried my bang my head against the cushioned headboard theory and that didn’t do much, so I simply redirected any negative energy to being catty and funny. I did imitations of her the last few days of the trip (my mom laughed every time and then told me to shut it). My mom felt bad as this woman was a single traveler and she probably was a sweet woman, but truth was she was simply annoying and sometimes rude. Whether or not she realized, she tried reprimanding me a few times. If you know me, you know my humor, you know that I joke how I am driving the bus to hell… but this is all to bring humor out in situations vs. anger. My UK friends offered me some milk for being ‘CATty’. Thanks ladies - I heart you gals! Anyhow, this gave my mom and me something to bond over. All in all, this may sound a tad strange, but humor and imitations of others simply work for my family. I would rather be caddy any day then have a fight with someone I love.

This was the second chapter of my trip. My 1st chapter was my 3 weeks in Morocco. I arrived in Barcelona 2 ½ weeks ago. I met some good peeps that I hope to see again in this lifetime!

I am off to Seville. I have 3 nights on my own before Sheri and Leslie arrive at the beginning of chapter 3.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb