Mediterranean ramble


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
September 20th 2009
Published: September 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Museum fail, beautiful Mediterranean Sea win


My plan for the day was to see the Museu Nacional d'Art de Catalunya (MNAC), but I should have done my homework; it is closed Sunday. So sad! I decided to go see the beach and wander the Barceloneta and Barri Gotic areas instead. Definitly a high point of the trip. The palm trees, and gorgeous colors of the neighborhoods. The melding of Jewish, Hindu, Muslim and Catholic people all in their finery and standing around in the plazas chatting with the children running about playing and laughing. It made me very happy to be alive.

I determined that I did want to see MNAC, so asked if the hotel had availability tomorrow night, so I could see it Monday. They were full, so my afternoon adventure included a trip to the train station to get my reservation for the trip to Cordoba. I shall have to return to Barcelona, and stay longer. There is so much to see and do here!! I feel I have only touched it.

I had just walked into the hotel after that adventure, and the skys opened up. Rain, lightening and thunder. Must be fall here, too. Ah well, I checked the temps in Cordoba: 24 and sunny. I shall find the last vesiges of sunshine in Spain! Not really, but it is funny that the last couple places I have left have had rain just as I was leaving, and I do feel I am following the sun.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

BarcelonettaBarcelonetta
Barcelonetta

Cute building in Barcelonetta, Barcelona neighborhood


Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 94; dbt: 0.113s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb