Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
November 17th 2008
Published: November 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!

So, I just got back from a trip to Barcelona, which was fantastic!! It was definately my favorite trip thusfar...I completely fell in love with the city!

So...Thursday afternoon I left with my friends from school, Becca and Kristin, and we hopped on a bus to Malaga, where we caught a plane to Barcelona. We were in a hurry to get to a concert; Kristen is a big fan of the band Sigur Ros. I'm not sure if any of you had heard of them--I hadn't even heard of them before she introduced me to them, but I thought the concert was incredible. They are famous for playing their instruments in strange ways, like playing a guitair with a violin bow. It was definately a memorable concert, and what made it even cooler is that I got to meet up with a good friend from the States, who was also going.

The next day, Kristin and Becca and I toured the city, and saw a bunch of amazing architecture. Gaudi is definately the most famous Barcelona-based architect...we went to see his Temple de la Sagrada Familia, which was great! He died before it was finished, so it is still under-construction. That day we also walked around a really famous market in the city, and went to the beach. We ate at a really amazing restaurant on the beach, where I got pumpkin soup with foie gras and cheese...yum! That night we went out for Indian food, which was also really good.

The next day we went around and saw more Gaudi. Out of all the houses and other edifices that Gaudi has created, the most impressive thing that we saw that day was Parc Guell, which is an entire park that Gaudi designed. The pictures are really necessary to understand...We ate lunch in that little market that we had discovered earlier, which was a real find. There are pictures of that too.

Traveling there and back was really a breeze. Hmm...what else can I mention? Oh yeah--in Barcelona they don't speak Spanish, they speak Catalan. I might have some pictures that display the language; it is pretty much a mixture of Spanish and French. Most people speak Spanish too, so communication wasn't really a problem. Overall it was a great trip, and I feel like I could have stayed there another week! There is so much to see and do in Barcelona.


Miss you,
Amy

PS--Thanks dad, for the flight there! You randomly put me on the exact same flight as Becca and Kristin, as it turns out! There was some sort of promotion going on, which is why the flight time was changed, and we were all just on one big plane together. So thanks!


Additional photos below
Photos: 166, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Kristin and BeccaKristin and Becca
Kristin and Becca

before the Sigur Ros concert
Sigur RosSigur Ros
Sigur Ros

This shadow was projected so that everyone could see how the lead singer was playing the guitair with a violin bow.


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb