Skiing in the smallest country in the world..."except the Vatican?" "But you can't ski there"..."or can you"...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
January 22nd 2008
Published: January 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Skiing in Andorra.

Seriously, you shouldn't be reading this...you should be looking at the pics. They can much more easily convey how friggin amazing this weekend was. We left at 7:30pm Friday from the center of Barcelona on a bus with 2 other people in my program and a bunch of other Spaniards. About 30 minutes in we stop for gas, and an hour in we stop (for an hour) at the random bar in the middle of no where. The stench at this bar was beyond anything words can describe. I would love to give you some sort of analogy, but anything that would do it justice would make you sick. It smelled so bad that we couldn't even keep away from it on the bus and were forced into the smoke filled bar...literally if you didn't know it was cigarette smoke you would instinctively stop drop and roll in this joint. Eventually, we got back on the road and an hour later were in Andorra. Our hotel was a little ghetto but the rooms were huge and we had a balcony that over looked some mountains. When I found myself on said balcony later that night with new friends, a real cuban cigar which someone insisted I have, and a glass of Cavo, I realized that my life could not get any better....But then it did! The hotel provided a huge breakfast and put out enough food that I could sneak some out for lunch on the slopes. The bus ride to the mountain was about an hoursh..but the scenery was so gorgeous that it flew by. After waiting for about an hour for rentals we hit the slopes with a big group, but slowly, as we took more and more challeging runs we got down to about 4 sometimes 5 of us: my friend Tim (great guy, about 34 feet tall who skis 3 times a week in vermont), Brittany and Morgan (two gals from Boulder Colorado who live up in the mountain and consequently are the best snowboarders I have ever seen), and myself (ballistic missle who hopes he doesn't break is leg when he takes on slopes he is in no way qualified for).

Here's the best part. It was 50 degrees. Kid you not we were at the top of the pyranies mountains and I was skiing in a t-shirt and a fleece. Unfortunately, this meant that the slopes were increeeedibly icy when you hit shadey spots but it was totally worth it. We went out saturday night and sparing you any unnecessary details, we soon realized that there are only 25 taxis in the ENTIRE COUNTRY...sooo yeah we waited for quite sometime before we got back to the hotel.

I imagined the meals that came with the 130 all incusive weekend thing were going to be like jamon and queso bocadillos...but to the contrary, we were served a delicious 8 course eal by the head of the hotel....it was great

I would continue to rant (cause thats what I do best apparently), but really you should look at the pictures and know that if I see you in the winter we are going skiing....I really, really love this sport, and this was one of the coolest weekends of my life.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb