Hoy


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
January 15th 2008
Published: January 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am sorry that this must be quick, I will write a longer entry about my new living situation soon, but I can hardly stay awake right now.

I just got back from a flamenco performance and it was incredible. Again, CIEE was amazing hooking us up with front row seats, free drinks, time to hang with the band, etc. I swear to you the guitar player was one of the best in the world. Absolutely amazing.

My new place is about 2 blocks from the residencia which many international students live, including vanessa. She convinced me to go to spanish yoga today which was one of the most huiliating times in my life. First, let us establish that I would fail miserably at Yoga in the US when it is in english. Second, please appreciate that there were 8 people in the class and 7 instructors....all of which REALLY wanted to help me. Vanessa is a member of a gym here which is literally one of the nices buildings I have ever walked through in my life. It's literally breathtaking, by the time I walked from the front door to the locker room someone had asked me if I wanted anything from a massage to an ass wiping. Vanessa was kind enough to give me a guest pass if I tagged along and I agreed to "try something new" not anticipating that it would mark a new height to my humility.

So all instructions are in spanish. Now, one would naturally suggest "well, Jon why don't you ust watch the instructor and do as they do? Unfortunately when my right leg is wrapped around my body 8 times, my left is sticking straight up, my hands are behind my back and I am "taking deep beaths" I couldn't see said instructor. The real humor comes with the people trying to help me. At all times during this hour long session I had 2 people sticking their knee in my back, holding my shoulders down, etc. all while giving me stern instructions in spanish. Honestly, if these instructions were verbalized to me in ingles I don't think I could understand them with the music in the background and my legs over my head...but the language barrier didn't help. We finally finished and I eagerly left with Ness. The rest of the day was much more relaxing as we found an AMAZING all you can eat restaurante...I haven't been that full since I left Momma Fasoli's kitchen, and a quaint coffee shop that was perfect for people watching. I then popped over to forementioned flamenco with my Guardian Angel (who has spanish female friends who she promised i will meet soon). and afterward met up with people to see the end of the futbal game in a very authentic bar on las romblas called "Sports Bar" which serves budweiser and hotdogs, native foods to barcelona....not my choice I just met people there.


Love you all and I promise to hit you up about my family here pronto.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.077s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb