$6.46 in my bank account...thanks Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
December 11th 2007
Published: December 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Riding the LionRiding the LionRiding the Lion

Tom and I. Taking Barcelona by storm.
I have a new favorite vacation spot.
It's Barcelona.

I left cold, rainy Prague on Thursday after work, and headed for Brno. I met up with a friend from my TEFL course and some of his teacher-friends, and I sampled some of THE BEST Czech beer I've had yet! (Svejani... i think it was called).
I had to wake up pretty early in Brno on Friday to and take the tram to the center and then the bus from the center to the aiport...I think it had been a while since the #1 tram has seen a tourist, but I rocked it.
The Brno airport was small and was really quiet, so I got some more sleep on the bench waiting for my flight.
I flew Ryan Air so there were no assigned seats, but luckily I got a window seat, and there was nobody in the middle seat so i could spread out! However, there were about 40 drunk Spanish people returning home from some sort of vacation. All I know, is they wouldn't sit down or stop taking pictures, OR stop shaking my seat. The men behind me were especialy drunk...

I arrived in Girona and was
Sunset over BarcelonaSunset over BarcelonaSunset over Barcelona

nice view from the cablecar ride...
surprised to find that the bus ride to Barcelona was actually 22 EUROS, awesome.
AND it took an hour and a half to get there.

I did a lot of sightseeing as soon as I got there because I was meeting up with Tom and Dan in the afternoon, and they usually aren't into sightseeing as much.
I stayed at the Kabul Hostel and it was amazing. For 20 Euro a night ( i only paid for one night...haha) and it was the best hostel I have ever stayed at. The location was amazing...right off the main tourist drag La Ramblas and it was in a courtyard full of palm trees and cafes. I paid for a 10-person dorm room, but I was placed in a "dorm" that only had one bunk bed! what luck.

My second night in Barcelona was spent at a dance club at the marina until 3AM and then I had to run and catch my bus to the airport. What a disaster...the drawbridge that connected the marina to the mainland was open, so I had to run like a madman to the other end of the marina, back to the hostel to get
Cactus FarmCactus FarmCactus Farm

we got lost and ended up in a cactus farm...it was closed for the day, so we had to climb the fence to get out!
my stuff, and then ran about 2km to the bus station...I am definitely not in as good of shape as I used to be...

I loved Barcelona...but I am down to only $6.46 in my bank account. I am sure I will look back on this one day and laugh..but right now, I am ready for my first paycheck...or should I say, "pay-czech"!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

ChiuahahChiuahah
Chiuahah

at first I thought this dog was fake...but its real. too funny.
Sagrada FamilaSagrada Famila
Sagrada Famila

rocking my SMC intramural champion tshirt at my favorite Barcelona sight...this church has been under construction forever.
Placa RealPlaca Real
Placa Real

the view from our hostel! Unreal!
CablecarCablecar
Cablecar

Tom, Dan , and I riding the cablecar up to the castle.


Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0855s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb