Barcelona, Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
November 20th 2007
Published: November 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last weekend, November 16th-18th, Sarah and I went on a weekend holiday to Spain. Our trip there was pretty long. We left Greystones at 2:20pm, arrived at the bus station in Dublin at around 3:40, took a bus to the airport, picked up our boarding pass, went through security, and finally departed at 6:15pm. We arrived in Spain around 9:30pm. We took a shuttle from the airport to Barcelona city center, and finally arrived at our hostel around 11:30pm. We checked in and went straight to bed; or at least Sarah did. I had a horrible hostel stay. The first night I was in a room with 7 other people who all knew each other. Around 12:00am, a couple came home and proceeded to mess around in the bed above me, then after a long night of that, the rest of them came home around 4am, loud and obnoxious. Basically I got 2 hours of sleep the whole night. The good news is that I was able to switch to a different room for the next night, only to find out that my new roommates were friends with the old ones! What a small freaking world!
On Saturday Sarah and I went on a bike tour around the city of Barcelona. It was absolutely beautiful. It was a bit chilly, but the sun was shining and the skies were very blue. We were able to see a great deal of breathtaking architecture including a place called Sagrada La Familia. This was an absolutely gorgeous cathedral designed by Goudi. After the bike tour we explored the city and shopped in some of the shops.
The next morning, we left the hostel, went to the WRONG bus station, and nearly missed our flight, but luckily, our flight was delayed 1 hour so we made it just fine! I really enjoyed Spain. It was beautiful and I was able to practice speaking some of the Spanish that I know. That was pretty interesting. I even found myself speaking in Spanish once I returned back to Ireland because it became routine over the couple days I was in Spain.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb