Au Revoir Paris, Hola Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
April 20th 2007
Published: April 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Waiting for the train to take us to spainWaiting for the train to take us to spainWaiting for the train to take us to spain

eating rice crackers and peanut butter
Well, we had to say goodbye to Paris last night as we rushed headlong through the metro & streets to catch our night train. We didn´t have beds this time, so we tried reclining in a full voiture for 12 hours. My seat was broken, so if I touched the back of it it fell in on the guy behind me! Haha. All I could say was ¨desolee!¨I spent the night in various positions, like one in which my legs were against the window and my head was hanging off the seat so that people brushed my hair as they walked by. It really was hilarious. At least I don´t have a twisted neck! And it was a very cheap passage. When we arrived here in Barcelona this morning we were exhausted, and I at least was missing Paris a lot. Barcelona is very different in that it is dirty, hot, and crowded, especially when:

You arrive at the train station and ask the hostelling office what rooms are available.
He answers: ¨Well, uh you see...this weekend is the comic book convention, so very full. No rooms available. You can wait for cancellation.¨Comic books? What?!

So then we discovered how heavy our backpacks really are (and they are by far the smallest we have seen among our fellow backpackers!). We walked and walked and walked and finally found a small room with three beds on the fourth floor of a random building in a quieter area. Great! A little expensive but tres chic and private. We rested a moment and then went on to find an internet cafe. We took to querying various pharmacies about the location and after four hours and at least six different sets of varying directions all involving the word ¨far¨, we found one through the help of a smartly dressed concierge standing outside a very expensive hotel. He was very kind. After that we decided to wander a bit, eat some falafel, and explore the Barri Gothique a bit. Very pretty! Although I am not sure what of what I saw was really in the Gothic Quarter and what was just outside of it. I bought a turquoise and sterling silver ring after dropping in on the floor right after the lady took it out of the locked glass case (don´t worry I love it- I am just not sure if I love Barcelona) and we looked at various street stands. Now it is dark and we´re all pretty tired. Kinsey´s poor camera is somewhat ill, so hopefully that will be remedied soon. We are going to try to go to the beach tomorrow, and I am going to try to do some hostel yoga at some point. I´m not sure exactly how far we are from our hostel, or exactly where it is. Another adventure is just around the corner.

So all in all, Barcelona is not what we had expected, though we didn´t have any specific expectations in mind. I think we thought it would have more heart, but maybe we just need to explore more and be a bit more open-minded. At any rate, tomorrow night we are on to Switzerland (we think), so see you there!

Courtney & the Girls

Advertisement



20th April 2007

Hostile Yoga
Please be careful with your hostile yoga -- you might injure someone, and then you'd end up in a Spanish jail. That would impinge upon your plans to visit Die Schweiz. Interlaken is very nice; I remember a beautiful park there. Of course, I was there just after Grindelwald -- magnificent! -- so it was slightly underwhelming by comparison. Rock on, Rose... Much love from Dad
21st April 2007

Im so sorry your not enjoying Barcelona. I never went but a lot of my friends did and they brought back pictures of some amazing cathedrals and old buildings. I dont know if you guys have seen any of them, or how far your hostel is from them, but i hope you will be able to enjoy the rest of your time there. Im praying for you!
21st April 2007

Wow !
Following your adventures is great. I'm not sure why my last comment didn't pass muster, but I'll try again. Maybe it's a generational thing. Your reports and reflections are great, and I imagine your ring is fabulous, Courtney.
21st April 2007

hello girls!
hey bellas! love from woodinville.... hilary
21st April 2007

don´t worry!
both your comments came through, and made us smile. thank you! xoxo, coco and girls

Tot: 0.374s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb