Barcelona - Christmas!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
December 16th 2006
Published: December 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Portal de L'AngelPortal de L'AngelPortal de L'Angel

How dreamy is this!!
Well, well. One blink and Christmas is just around the corner! Been awhile since I've posted anything on this travel blog. I guess that's because I've gotten into routine and have stopped feeling like I'm a traveller here. Hence the temporary halt in picture-taking!

However, decorations on the streets of Barcelona really warrant some pictures, especially since I doubt I'll be here next Christmas! Christmas markets are popular here: they sell everything from trees to tinsel, and every house has a manger (el belen), complete with figurines of baby Jesus, Joseph and Mary, the animals and the three kings.

What I think is really interesting is that the Three Kings (Los Reyes Magos) bring gifts on January 6th, instead of Santa Claus. I kinda prefer this version as, really, Santa is a Coca-Cola creation anyway.

The Catalans have their own quirky Christmas artefacts which are quite hilarious: there's the 'caganet' - a addition to the manger, a guy who moons everyone. The traditional caganet is an old Catalan man with a red hat and canvas shoes squatting and taking a dump in the manger!! Nowadays this has expanded to include soccer stars, Santa, the Devil, the Pope, and even Dali! It's become a tradition for families to include one of these in their manger and a sport to find the 'caganet'!

Another tradition is 'el tio' which is essentially a log with a face. Apparently it means "shit log." El tio always has a blanket to keep him warm. Presents are stashed under the blanket by parents and kids start beating the crap out of poor el tio with big sticks. And they sing a song. Once they've had enough of the flogging, el tio has pooped out gifts - a miracle has occurred!

This was explained to me entirely in Spanish by my Spanish teacher so I do have to state a disclaimer that I may have it wrong but I think the general idea is there!!

Happy Christmas everyone!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Mangers and figurinesMangers and figurines
Mangers and figurines

Take your pick!
Los tios!!Los tios!!
Los tios!!

Would never have imagined a log could actually be cute..
El Corte InglesEl Corte Ingles
El Corte Ingles

The largest department store in Spain. 'Bones Festes' is Catalan - something along the lines of Happy Holidays, I reckon.
La bombaLa bomba
La bomba

This, to me is the dodgiest instrument ever! You grip it with one hand and proceed to move it up and down the shaft (okay, stick. whatever). And even more hilarious? Your hand needs to be wet to create a sound! Whoa.


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb