Semana Una; Blog Uno - 379 Palabras


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
May 30th 2019
Published: May 30th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Polaroid (Individual): CQ Drive is crucial when traveling internationally. It is the motivation for pursuing cultural intelligence through curiosity and engagement with Spanish culture. This was something I found crucial while experiencing our travel day. As I flew internationally for the first time, I had to consistently remind myself of my motivation for the trip, as the actual travel part of the day was outside of my comfort zone. Much like what was discussed in our reading, I had to be honest with my discomfort with traveling, examine my confidence level, and remember my purpose for the trip and the benefits in travel. This enabled me to work with those around me and be flexible in what could have been an uncomfortable travel day.



Postcard (Relational): As we traveled for the first time together, it was exciting to see the group interact. We were able to work together and be accountable for each other, in that we made sure that everyone was together and that we were all able to get where we needed to be on time. Reflecting on this made me think of the way in which Spain Culture Smart describes a collectivist culture in Spain. An individualism, which largely characterizes American culture, places greater emphasis on individual rights and goals whereas collectivism, which largely characterizes Spanish culture, focuses on group goals and personal relationships. While most of us in the group were raised and live in a more individualistic culture, the group dynamic can still foster collectivism in the ways we interact with one another.



Bill Board (Social): When considering the travel day and the way in which motivation plays into the development of CQ drive, it made me consider the social impact of privilege on one’s ability to travel. The ability to go on this cross-cultural experience is a privilege, as it is reliant, as least in part, by having the privilege of having education, finances, and the support of those in my close family and friend unit supporting me as I travel. Looking at it from this perspective should not only be humbling, but it should also increase both my gratitude for travel and my motivation to travel. This indirectly increases my CQ drive and I approach these cultural experiences with a new perspective.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb