Barcelona - Day 4


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
November 2nd 2014
Published: November 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 41.3826, 2.18451

The plan this morning was to do a walking tour of the gothic quarter. I thought the tour started at 11 so I slept in, had a leisurely breakfast then made my way to the Cathedral of the Holy Cross and St Eulalia. On the way I re-checked the pamphlet I had for this tour only to find the SPANISH walking tour starts at 11. The english tour started at 9.30. I was only an hour late. Seriously, this is Spain, nothing starts before 10am. And on a Sunday, what are they thinking!

So I did my own walking tour which was nice but not nearly as informative. I made the time to go into the cathedral (whats one more church) the cathedral was built in between the 13th and the 15th century. It is very much in the gothic style. It was quite lovely but the back of the church had been fenced off as a service was going on so not much touristing there.

As I walked out of the church a little orchestra had set themselves up on the steps and they were inviting people to dance the Sardana. This is one of those dances where everyone gets into a circle and dances around. Some of the pros were intermingled around the circle teaching the amateurs the steps. It was a bit like zorbas dance but much slower. Quite entertaining to watch.

After that I went for a walk down to Placa Catalunya to take some happy snaps. The only time I have been here was in the evening or on top of a bus so I didn't have many good photos and it really is a nice place. It was a beautiful warm day so I walked back down La Rambla to the bay and then wandered along until I found a nice bar, with alfresco dining to spend my afternoon in. I had intended to update my blogs but between the people watching and my book nothing much happened in that department. Besides I figured I'd have all day Monday on a train to do some writing. Maybe I'll feel more inspired then.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb