Barcelona, Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » Barcelona
May 15th 2013
Published: October 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Ah, Barcelona, home of the Ice bar, Ramblas street, and Lighthouse festivals. The third trip on our stop was in Barcelona, Spain. My dad and I stayed at a hostel again. This particular hostel sticks in my mind because of my roommates. One was this chick with dreadlocks down to her butt, and once when I was sleeping I looked over and right below my bottom bunk is an almost nude dude doing yoga on the floor. Parallel to my bed. In order to get out of the bed, I had to nicely ask nude dude (Australian) to move in such a way that I could get around him to get out of the bed.

Moving on to the streets of Barcelona. I think this is the first time I tried cooking on this trip. I went to the equivalent of a grocery store and walked to the frozen section. Everything on the picture of the product looks so friggin good. Turn the product over and it tells you how to make it. I grab a couple bags of what looks like stir-fry. I go back to the hostel but the only pan I can find is a Chinese wok. I cant read the directions for the food so I just kind of made it up as I went along. Not going to lie, it smelled awesome. My dad ate the stir-fry like a good sport but in no way did my American-made stir-fry from the convenience store satisfy how hungry we were.

As a present from my brother, Kyle, who was in Afghanistan at the time, me and my dad bought futbol tickets to see Barcelona play another city whose name I can't pronounce, let alone remember to spell. This is one of those moments in life where no matter how miserable the circumstances, you still wanted this event to happen so bad that you don't care. It was raining, we had walked about ten blocks to the stadium, our chairs were wet, and it was FREEZING outside. My dad and I saw most of the game, and it was super amazing to see professional European Futbol players play a game. We walked to the stadium and it was raining that day, we purchased a huge hotdog (these things were like two feet long) and beer. We got to see Messi score two goals, (one was a headbut into the goal as we were leaving). Barcelona game = amazing.

Ill come back to Barcelona stories later, we also found our way to Rialto Park. Inside Rialto park I saw the Crystal Palace ( had been on my list of things to see. It was a huge dome building made entirely of glass that would reflect colored tiles on the floor. We visited on a dreary day so I think the Crystal Palace wasn't on it's best day.), lots of famous buildings


Additional photos below
Photos: 85, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0861s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb