First Day in Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » Barcelona
September 1st 2011
Published: September 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

PlacematsPlacematsPlacemats

This is a my host family's dinner table. The blue napkins and placemats are the gifts I brought for my host family.
My first day in Barcelona was quite interesting. My roommate, Christian, and I took a taxi from the airport to our host parent's apartment in Barcelona. They live in a part of the city known as Sarria, a neighborhood a few miles away from the downtown area of the city. The taxi ride to our host family was a complete hack job. Our Spanish speaking skills aren't that strong and we could only communicate basic vocabulary to our cab driver. Luckily, we got to our apartment without any difficulties.

Our host parents are very kind people. They have some children but they are adults and living on their own. They speak some English so I am able to ask them questions in English if I don't know how to ask the question in Spanish. I frequently ask them, "como se dice (insert English word here) en espanol" and they are able to help me through the language. Hopefully I'll gain a better understanding of the Spanish language through talking to my host family because I mostly speak in English with my Santa Clara friends at IES.

It is customary to give small gifts to others in Spain and I brought one for my host family. My mom and I went shopping for a gift for my host parents before I left the United States. We bought Vera Bradley placemats and napkins for my host parents. My host mom really appreciated the gift and she said we will use them for tomorrow night's dinner.

My first dinner with my host parents was very delicious. Fernanda served me paiaya, bread with tomato sauce, and a salad. We talked about IES and the city of Barcelona. Alberto, my host dad, and Fernanada recommended that Christian and I try to experience Barcelona as much as possible during the month of September. Afterwards, the weather gets colder and the city calms down. The beaches in Barcelona and the surrounding cities are apparently amazing so hopefully I will go to the beach a lot this month.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb