hortalisses!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » Barcelona
May 19th 2011
Published: May 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, the love affair continues and I am now in the "getting to know u" phase with BCN ... my English is decreasing and my Catalan increases in inverse proportion.. I try and learn a new word every day.. today's word is hortalisses....carrots, peppers and the like..
I am sorry for the break in transmission but basically Ive been studying, eating, sleeping, studying yada yada ... average night's sleep is 3 hours and last nite I had 7.. and started clapping in my sleep cos I was so happy

so a brief synopsis of the week apart from the CELTA induced ( i think that's a compound and should have a dash, but let's be anarchic like the peeps in Placa Catalunya and not put one) madness and paranoia is that I went to Camp Nou not Poble Nou last week and saw the Barca team at their home ground which was so amazing an experience it blew me away... an experience i wont forget lightly especially as it was my first time ever in a football stadium (sic) so what a start to my stadium-bagging life.....start your way at the top and work down, right?

Apart from that, Ive had a gin cocktail in a bar called Manchester and walked the wrong way home up my street which is about 3 K long.... which is funny cos it took me about half an hour to realise..even tho i knew the street really... blame the course/the gin/my general stupidness/ the weather/ whatever you fancy....
I continue to teach badly but I at least I now know I am teaching badly and so performance anxiety has taken over from simple ignorance....i try to smile a lot and carry on... aparently, after performing very good bit of original dialogue-as-a-lesson for the students on verb collocations, i was running round a chair for 20 minutes of the lesson the other day.... and even more scary, i didnt even realise that someone had taken it away for me (they couldn't stand to watch me making a tit of myself anymore, i think) until they told me today.. u have to laff, don't u?????
Well, that's it.. the mistakes in this are deliberate and part of a cunning plan btw.. oh, i forgot.. i can now run up the stairs to the top without stopping whilst carrying a large bag of ....... fill in as you please....
tara for now


Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0802s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb