Computer Woes Again


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » Barcelona
March 29th 2011
Published: March 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Lunch in FrankfurtLunch in FrankfurtLunch in Frankfurt

Yummy lunch in the Frankfurt Airport
Well, after 21 hours of traveling I made it to the hotel. For some reason, this trip just didn't seem that real to me until I was in the Frankfurt Airport waiting for my connection. It was only then that I really ¨got¨what I was up to. The plane rides were fine, although I have to admit dismay at the dinner. Chicken Cacciatore again? Really? That is what I had a year and a half ago on my last long haul. But, I managed to eat it all. The short hop to Barcelona on Lufthansa was the best. They had an Asian style wrap in a flour tortilla. It was truly amazing.

At the Barcelona Airport, I took a bus to the Plaza Catalunya near my hotel. With each trip I am a little more comfortable and bold in my decisions. I toyed with the idea of a taxi, but never thought about a driver waiting for me at the airport this trip. The bus was fine and only 9 Euros round trip.

I have never been able to log online with my laptop here at the hotel. Will try to take it to a Starbucks or somewhere to see if I can get online tomorrow. If not, then I am carrying the worlds heaviest Kindle charger, since that is what I am using the stupid laptop for now. I took a quick half hour nap, showered and wandered down the Ramblas. It was crowded, but enjoyable. On the way back, I wanted some food, but did not want the tourist trap crap I saw on the Ramblas. I finally found a place where I really did not fit it, being a tourist, so plopped myself down and ordered olives, jamon, calamari and a huge beer. To my brother Ted I say this, hold on for the picture. I did you proud! Everything was so darn good. I was so in the spirit of it that when an older French lady was not sure what to do, I told her to just point and say uno, uno and uno. She was delighted and came over several times to thank me. Uh huh, as if I knew what I was doing. Still, it worked and she was happy. That really put the day in perspective. True I am irked about the computer, but really it is moments like that and experiences like that dinner that are why I travel. I promise I will have pictures, but for now just picture me a little tipsy, full, tired as all get out and really really super happy that I am here. Thanks for reading this if you made it all the way down here. It is great to have you on this trip with me.

Side note: For some reason the computer logged me on today, so here are the pictures. Guess the laptop was as tired as I was from traveling all day. Hope you enjoy the photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

RestaurantRestaurant
Restaurant

This was such a fun place
Small BeerSmall Beer
Small Beer

That was my small beer with dinner.


30th March 2011

Hi B, glad you are on your way. Can't wait to see the pictures. Is the mug even bigger than the ones you brought home for Kirwin and I last year? If so, hurray for you! Have fun, be safe, and keep the blog coming.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb