5th stop - Salamanca, city of sand stone


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
July 21st 2006
Published: July 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Coming to Salamanca


plaza mayorplaza mayorplaza mayor

summer day at plaza mayor
I dare say Salamanca is one beautiful and relaxed city. Everything is made in sandstone, from the eldest of the many churches till the newest building in the city-center, all respecting the idea behind Salamanca and all being a pleasure to the eye.
But except from Salamanca being a very charming city with a more amazing building on each street corner, I find myself rather stressed. My friend with whom I left all my stuff in Madrid and to who's place I had planned to arrive tomorrow is not feeling well and her family chose to take her to the seaside. This is understandable enough, but leaves me with great problems. I had hoped to chance some things at her place, get laundry done and empty my memory cards into my laptop. Now I have to find somewhere else to go which is easier said than done. I have a reservation in two nights in Madrid, but before that I'm on my own, with no company, a very borring youth hostel in Salamanca and none to find in the nearbound cities. And I really need to go to Madrid. I'm carrying around to bottles of alcohol and a bagpack with tons
plaza de San Juan Bautistaplaza de San Juan Bautistaplaza de San Juan Bautista

summer day in Salamanca
of dirty clothes. And I am worried about my friend. I had so much hoped to see her and laugh with her and talk on many an interesting subject. To get off the road for a while and enjoy the remote location of her family's house for just a few days.

But well, I'll find my way and untill tomorrow I can still have the hope that I will find a solution, though it very much keep me from sightseeing in this amazing student city.

Anna

Here starts my second letter from Salamanca. My view on my situation has quit changed. I have chosen to stay in the borring youth hostel until my arrival in Madrid. I met two really great people with whom I get along, can party and sightsee. The one is a Dutch girl from the hometown of a guy still very much on my mind, the other an Australian guy from Sidney. We have been partying pretty wildly for two days now and gone to the Irish Rover to end the evenings and start up into the wee hours of the morning. Of some reason, probably because we have a Dutch girl in
fun in salamancafun in salamancafun in salamanca

people from the hostel on a night out in salamanca
our group, have we met tremendous amounts of very goodlooking Dutch guys. I never knew that Holland in secret had given birth to so many guapos. But I do know that I found the most wonderful of them and it only pains me to meet so many Dutch all reminding me of my days in Malaga. But yet the nigths here have been great. There was an outbreak of breakdancing in the Irish pub and the Australian guy showed out to be an extremely good dancer. -And suddently in came Superman, flying into the crowd showing his Super-tricks. This might seem weird, but believe me; for a halfdrunken Danish girl caught up in watching the break dancing it was weird and though ridiculously funny. Together with Superman came Napoleon, Ninja, Cleopatra and many others, all of them Spanish guys giving it all they had.
Salamanca has changed and so has my situation. I spoke with my friend in Madrid and felt much better. But it still feel as if everything that could go wrong has gone wrong since I left Sevilla. I find myself tired of travelling now and really hope that the up-coming days wont give as many problems
breakfast in salamancabreakfast in salamancabreakfast in salamanca

near the IH hostel
as the previous has.
Sofie I'll try and be back in Denmark around the 15th. That is a bit before time, but among many other reasons I miss you a great deal and I have so much I wish to share with you.
I better go now. The others are waiting. I'll see you!
Anna

My third and last letter from Salamanca will be written here in the youth hostel in Madrid.
Me, my Dutch friend and our Australian puppy all had a splendid last day of our stay. Some girls from USA and Canada joined us and we went out on the last night giving it everything we had. It ended it my widest night in Spain so far. It was a sunday and not much more than the bad clubs were open. But what fun. We started out with the lovely childrens game "I have never" and found some revelling truths about each other. Afterwards it ended in several nightclubs and in the end four of us went to a club that showed out to have striptease on the program. And oh darling they lost any item unnatural for the human body. Distasteful but fun for four
salamanca on a summer daysalamanca on a summer daysalamanca on a summer day

somewhere in central salamanca
drunken girls.
I only slept two hours in the morning before leaving with Lotte to Madrid, while erasing many a perverted picture from her memory card. What a night. Just what I needed to get out of my sulky ways.

Anyhow, I'm back in the capital and leaving for Barcelona tomorrow. Madrid has only been sleeping so I wont report much from here.

Kisses from a still very tired girl
Anna

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb