Salamanca


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
January 12th 2008
Published: January 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The EssentialThe EssentialThe Essential

A rough translation: "The essential is invisible to the eyes."
I went to Salamanca this year for Christmas break. It was a tough decision because of course it would be great to go home, but our break is only 2 weeks here and it's a really long trip between here and Maine.

I lived with a family and had the entire "student apartment" to myself because everyone else had gone home for Christmas. I took a Spanish course while I was there to try to improve my proficiency a little over the break. There were only a couple of other students in my class (which I should have expected, considering it's Christmas and all). In the morning from 9 to 10:40 we had Grammar and Vocabulary class and then after a 20 minute break we had Conversation and Composition. Once a week we had a Culture class, too.

On my "time off" I participated in the activities offered by the school and tried to catch up on some work for my classes. I also watched a lot of TV (which in this situation is a good thing because watching TV programs in a foreign language is a good way to learn).

Salamanca reminds me a lot of Santiago,
DuskDuskDusk

This is a little village outside of Salamanca where we went on a day trip
but a lot colder. Christmas was kind of different than in the States because even though they have Santa here, he isn't a really big deal. Most children receive their gifts on Epiphany from the three Wise Men. So, Christmas was more about eating a big meal than opening presents. Epiphany was more like Christmas in the U.S. The kids were really excited, and there was a parade the night before.

Overall it was a good experience, but I was really happy to go back to Santiago and see my friends again. It seems like there's so much work to do before finals (which begin at the end of this month). I'll be happy when this semester is over...especially because the weather here is terrible now. Well, I guess that's all for now. Hasta luego!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Christmas treeChristmas tree
Christmas tree

This is the Christmas tree in the Plaza Mayor. They left it up until January 6th, it seemed strange to see it there after Christmas Day.
NativityNativity
Nativity

Here's a nativity scene sculpted from sand. How cool!
StudentsStudents
Students

Me with a couple of girls from the school.
Plaza MayorPlaza Mayor
Plaza Mayor

A lot of people gathered here on New Year's Eve to ring in the new year. My friends and I stayed inside...it was way to cold!
Homestay familyHomestay family
Homestay family

Here's my homestay "mom" Ana with her son-and-law and grandson.
ParadeParade
Parade

One of the floats in the parade for the 3 Wise Men.
BalanceBalance
Balance

We couldn't figure out how this guy didn't fall off the ball.


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb