France!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Pays-de-la-Loire » Angers
December 21st 2007
Published: December 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

CathedralCathedralCathedral

The cathedral in Angers. It's much smaller than the one here, but still very beautiful.

This past weekend I went to Angers, France to visit my friend Nissa. She’s studying abroad there for a semester. I was a little nervous about going, considering that I don’t speak a word of French, but most everyone I spoke to during the trip spoke English, which surprised me. People here keep telling me that English is the universal language (and it is a required course in many countries) but it just seems strange to me. Maybe because I never had to learn a language as a requirement, it seems odd that other people would have to learn English. Speaking of that, I’ve had several requests from people here to practice English.

So, France was fantastic. It was great to see Nissa and just experience a different culture (though I was only there for 2 days). We ate a lot of great food, went shopping, and talked a lot about our study abroad experiences and UMaine gossip.

It was really interesting to compare the French and Spanish cultures, and I realized that I have adjusted to some aspects of Spanish culture. For example, when Nissa asked if I wanted to get some lunch (at 1 o’clock or
NissaNissaNissa

Here's a picture of my friend Nissa.
so) I thought, “Isn’t that really early?” She’s planning to visit me here in the spring. I can’t wait to show her around, it will be great.

Ok, that’s all for now. I’ll post the pictures from Salamanca when I get back. Hope everyone has a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

CarouselCarousel
Carousel

We were going to ride the carousel, but didn't get around to it. It reminded me of the Blue Hill Fair.
Christmas shoppingChristmas shopping
Christmas shopping

Everyone rushing around to finish up Christmas shopping.
ChateauChateau
Chateau

This used to be a fortress, but now it's just open for tours.
LightsLights
Lights

I'm actually not sure what this building is, but I thought the light display was tre cool.
FireworksFireworks
Fireworks

Christmas fireworks (not real ones, but still impressive).


29th December 2007

WOW, what an experience for you!
HI Abby, What a great experience for you. Your date sent me your blog site. Fabulous pics and it is really neat to hear of your experiences. I went to Spain in March of 2003. 2 friends and myself went on a Horseback riding vacation. We were in the eastern southern portion. Flew into Malaga then spent 10 days in Barbete which is on the Costa del Luz. We had an apartment and rode horses for 7 days in Parque Natural de la Brena. We spent the other 3 sightseeing in Jerez, Frontera, and another city that I can't remember the name, but they were having an international horse show, just up out alley!! On the way from Malaga airport we stopped briefly in Tariff (? spelling?) Our host stated it was the windiest city in the world. They took advantage of it because there were 100's of giant windmills on the mountains all around. Have you seen any of these windmills? They are quite impressive. I hope someday to go back to Spain and see more or it. Gotta go. Will write another day!, Bonnie Moretto (Mario's mom)
7th January 2008

TRES cool
Yes, I agree, the light show is tres cool (there should be an accent grave above the "e" but I'm too lazy to copy and paste...). You went to France?! I'm so jealous! What was your favourite part? How was Christmas in Spain, btw? We have 60cm of snow here, but it's melting with all the rain we've been getting (soon to be replaced by, you guessed it, ICE!). Classes start for me tomorrow. How about you? Will you be taking the same courses continued over from last semester or will they be all new ones? I got a new job, working for Microsoft...I'm a Mac user and I'm working for the dreaded Microsoft. There may be some identity dissonance to be resolved here... :-p Talk to you soon!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb