Recovery Weekend, Barcelona plans, and flowers!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca » Bejar
February 26th 2013
Published: February 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

P1010387P1010387P1010387

chocolate con churros
On Friday morning we has chocolate con churros, which is amazing! Since I have been sick I only indulged with one churro.

Then after we had our breakfast we were given thelpful tips for traveling. I am pleased to say I have two trips planned! The first is in March and I am going to Paris with about 10 other people from my program here. I am looking forward to seeing what many people have told me is there favorite city in the world. I want to see the Eiffel Tower and the Louvre and everything else Parisian!. I want to pick up some French saying for the short time I am there. The other trip is to Morocco. The details are still being finalized but the trip is mid-April. Looking forward to seeing another continent!

After our workshop I was still feeling under the weather (I still am but I am getting over it) so I went to bed early.

On Saturday, I went with two other girls walking around the city. We stopped in a makeup store and I purchased a lipstick for 1.90! We also went to a clothing store and has fun trying on coats just for fun. We have no room to pack any though! Then we went to the grocery store. The girls I was with did their shopping and I picked up a few staples for my kitchen

After our outing we came back to their girls’ apartment to pickup some more curious souls and left to walk around. We came across a beautiful park and we entertained ourselves with the playground toys—including a zipline! The night was freezing (by our southern CA standards) so we did not stay much longer.

After, we got warmed up by our apartments and headed out for some Chinese food nearby. I guess some people were craving it. The food was ok—I am not a huge fan of the cuisine myself but I found food I liked.

After a long day I was tired and ready to relax. So I went home, made myself some tea and had a nice skype session.

The next day Sunday was spent booking hostels for our Paris trip. The internet kept going out because too many activities were going on. The laundry was going, people were cooking and three laptops were in use. After the hostels were booked I decided to attempt the laundry. I had accumulated quite a pile clothes needing to be laundered. After the wash cycle completed, I was left with a sopping wet clump of clothes. Dryers are not used here in Spain so off to wring my clothes as best I could I went! One of my roommates who had done laundry a few days prop told me her clothes tool 3 days to dry. So I will be wearing the same pants for the next three days most likely. Oh well, Spaniards do save a lot of money not using driers. I just pray it does not rain! Right now my clothes are in the cold, sopping wet. Hopefully they will catch some sun!

On Monday I had my film class, in which we watched the complex film, American Beauty. After class I went to the office to get some help with booking my flight to Barcelona (I am leaving this Thursday and some back Sunday night! I will be staying with the Fernandez family, as they so graciously have allowed me to stay with them for the short time I am there) But when I got to the office I was greeted with the best most beautiful surprise I had no idea was coming my way. I was given a gorgeous arrangement of tulips from my wonderful boyfriend, Tucker. He had arranged to have the flowers sent to my school at the exact time I went to the office. It was a lovely surprise, which I will never forget! After that, flowers in tow, I decided to do some grocery shopping. I actually placed the flowers in the seat of my cart and did my shopping. I definitely got stares! I had to rush home in order to put all of the food I had just bought away and to get my flowers in some kind of vase with water. I emptied a mason jar I had been using for cereal and filled it with water. The flowers are now sitting on my nightstand. After the flowers were safely handled, I headed back to school for my evening Spanish class. After class my friend Brianna and I had a few errands to run. I picked up a Universidad Salamanca sweatshirt that is quite cozy as well as a few other items. Then we went to the grocery store to pick up some much needed items, including cereal and pineapple slices. After the long walk(it really wasn’t that long but it felt like a long walk) back to our respective apartments, I began searching for my flight to Barcelona. After much deliberation I decided on a 2pm flight to Barcelona from Madrid, which means I am going to have to take a 9am bus to Madrid from Salamanca.

Today is Tuesday and I have a lot of work to do! I have a short English assignment on American Beauty and I need to finish up my history homework, which is due by Sunday since I leave for Barcelona the day after tomorrow! Then at 4pm I have Spanish followed by my Spanish Culture course. We are going on a Tapas tour to learn about gastronomics!

Tomorrow, I have English in the morning followed by our first quiz in Spanish later in the day. I will write my next post after Barcelona! More pics and stories to come!



Adios!

Eva


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

P1010415P1010415
P1010415

beautiful park


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb