Con pan y vino se hace el camino...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » León
June 18th 2008
Published: June 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everybody!!!

So here I am in a little city called Carrion de los Condes in the province of Leon, Spain. Tomorrow will be my 14th day on the Camino, and it has been amazing so far!! Ok, so much to say! I´ll try to organize info a little bit so I don´t ramble...

The walking crew...
Ok, so I have to admit that I was a little bit nervous arriving alone and walking 500 miles by myself, but I met the best group of people on my very first night, and we´ve been walking together ever since. There are 5 of us...one Italian named Valentina who is hilarious and uses the word beautifu labout 100 times a day. She´s great! Then there´s Tilde from Denmark who is probably laughs more than anyone I know. Loreto is from near Santiago here in Spain and has every day so well planned. Her aunt Teresa is with her and can´t tell you how many Spanish phrases I´ve learned from her (her favorite is me cago en la leche...for when she´s really mad)...she also breaks out into Spanish regional songs every few kilometers. And me. Next week, my mom will be joining our crew, and it will be wonderful!!

Daily schedule...
Ok, so we wake up early. Every day we are up at 6 and out of the hostel by 6:30 or 7 at the latest to start our day´s walk. On good days there´s a tiny city every 3 miles or so where we stop and have some cafe con leche and a bocadillo de tortilla. We walk like this with breaks at most towns or just on the ground every hour or so. We have walked through what would be the American equivalent of three states...Navarra, La Rioja, and now we are in Castillla y Leon. And all kids of terrrain...we started with mountains, moved to hills, and now are in the flat meseta (which would be horribly hot if it weren´t for all of the rain). Anyway, we usually arrive at our destination city at around 3:00. We find a refugio, take showers, hand wash our clothes, eat some dinner, and go to bed around 7:30...and start all over again in the morning. I am really enjoying the simplicity of it all.

I have so much more to say, but the line for the computer is long!! I will try to update you all in the next week or so!! Hope all is well!!!

Hasta luego!
Morgan

Advertisement



18th June 2008

Wow!
hey Morgan!! Your trip sounds so exciting and adventurous! I'd never heard of such a wonderful trip before, tho it's right up my alley! If you ever embark on another, I'm totally in for it! One question, though. How much gear do you carry?!! I think I'd need a pack mule to walk with me!
18th June 2008

wonderful!
Morgan - everything sounds wonderful! Mmm...bocadillo, bocadillo. Bocadillo de tortilla. :-)
18th June 2008

Hey girl!
Morgie, We miss you tons but I am so excited for you. I definitely want to do this at some point so keep pointers. I am taking a class at Rice and literally 95 percent of the teachers need special ed mods. Love you, you little barnaby's spinich artichoke dip.
18th June 2008

hay girl hay
Hey Mo!! Wow, it sounds beautiful. Oh, yeah,and what in the world does "me cago en la leche"? Crazy...:) Man, it sounds like you're having tons of fun!! Mom can't wait to join you. :) Well, good luck on the rest of your travels. We looooovvvveeee you! See ya soon, Maggie and Mom
19th June 2008

Amazing! So glad you are doing this and how can i join you? Can't wait to read more!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb