Paris, France 3/14-3/17, Cooking class, Scottish Movie


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Burgohondo
March 20th 2013
Published: March 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

With the first week back from Paris winding down I am finally able to write a post!

When we arrived in Paris on Thursday night it was snowing! We then had to wait at the airport for a couple hours for a shuttle to take us to our hostel. Our driver showed our eager selves the Eiffel Tower and the Arch di Triumph at night! They are so beautiful and it was a great start to our trip! That night I went to bed early in order to get breakfast right when it was served at our hostel and get a head start on our first full day in Paris. Our hostel was in the Latin Quarter surrounded by bars and restaurants. There were even crepe places just a few buildings down from the hostel.



Our first stop was the Pantheon. We didn't get to go inside since it wasn't open yet but the building is such a sight. Next we took the metro to the Louvre museum. We took the metro to many of the places we visited. We walked from era to era seeing hundreds of works of art. We spent about 2 hours there and by the time we were leaving I was exhausted! I was actually actually exhausted after only an hour of walking! Next we saw the Arc di Triumph and walked along the Champs Elysee and before visting to Eiffel Tower we stopped at the famous macaroon shop Lauderee. My favorite flavor was chestnut. They were scrumptious. We then walked to the love lock bridge where we each locked our own locks to the bridge full of hundreds of thousands of locks! It is incredible! We even came back to the Eiffel tower to see the sun set and after to see it twinkle. After that we warmed up with some hot drinks and delicious creme brulee.

The next day we visited the market and saw all sorts of fruits, veggies, meats, etc. Then we traveled my train to the Palace of Versailles. We were able to get in free, which is always nice. There were many statues and we travelled through many of the rooms like Marie Antoinette's bedroom. The Hall of Mirrors was my favorite.

After went to Galeries Lafayette a humongous mall full of designer stores with incredible stained glass and a dome shape. Next we saw Notre Dam an amazing Church. We even experienced some Mass which was very cool and the Church was filled with people. I love the gargoils and extreme details of the building.

We got cought in some rain so we decided to have dinner. We found a tiny restaurant with a dark lighhting and an intimate atmosphere. I had a delicious plate of pasta and for dessert chocolate mousee.

Sunday was our last day and we were able to see the Père Lachaise Cemetery and visit Jim Morrison and Oscar Wilde's graves. The day was gloomy so the atmosphere was perfect for the scenary. We even had some yummy fruit tartes in the beautiful setting. After that we went to the Sacré-Cœur Basilica, a Roman Catholic church. The church itself is s beautiful sight and the view looking over Paris is amazing as well. We also happen to visit the Church right as Mass began. Again the room was packed.

Lastly, with a few hours to spare we had a delicious three course meal for only 12 euros! I had a goat cheese salad, lamb and potatoes and green beans and flam for dessert. It was fantastic. After lunch we had an huor or so before we had to leave for the airport so we strolled around Paris in the rain and I got my final nutella crepe!

The next 10 hours were spent waiting travelling by metro, bus, and finally by plane to arrive back in Madrid. Our flight arrived at midnight so we had to wait till the metro opened at 6am to catch our bus from the Madrid bus station back to Salamanca. I didn't sleep much in thr aiport, on the plane, or on the bus and when we arrived in Salamanca I had class about an hour later. Needless to say the next day I slept in to regain the hours of sleep I had lost.

Overall the trip to a success! I saw so much and enjoyed great food. I would love to revisit and see other parts of France as well.



Yesterday night on Tuesday I had a cooking class where I learned how to make spanish tortilla which contains, a ton of oil, potatoes, and onions,eggs, and salt. We also made paella. I do not like paella but the tortillas were delicious and it was a really fun experience to learn how to cook Spanish food from a chef!

Today after my English class on my break I had tapas and cafe con leche. I had spanish tortilla with a grilled bell pepper on bread. It is one of my favorite tapas I have had so far. Tonight I went to the movies to see a Scottish film called The Angels' Share. It was pretty funny but the Scottish accent was hard to understand at times so I actually ended up reading the Spanish subtitles to help me understand!

On Friday we have a Flamenco dancing class and later a wine tasting. Should be lots of fun.

Then on Monday night I am taking a bus to Madrid to go to a Seder for the Jewish holiday Passover. I am really interested to see the way the Spanish Jewish community celebrates! Since the seder is going to end late I am going to stay in a hostel. On tuesday I will be able to explore Madrid before I have to head back to Salamanca in the evening.

The next trips I have planned are to travel down to the South of Spain and see Sevilla, Jerez de la Frontera, and Cadiz ythe first weekend in April My friend Avi who I met on the plane over to Madrid is studying in Jerez and she is going to meet me in Sevilla to show me around. Then we plan to visit Cadiz, a town on the coast. Hoping for some warmer weather, though today was one of the warmer days here in Salamanca. I am also going to Morocco in Mid-August with some of the students here on the program. I am excited! After Morocco we only have two weeks left before heading back to the U.S.

Off to bed I go! Hope you enjoy the pictures!

Eva


Additional photos below
Photos: 172, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb