Nada mucho...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Ávila
March 23rd 2006
Published: March 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Reyes and meReyes and meReyes and me

My cooperating teacher, Reyes, and me. She's great! I have a really difficult pronouncing her name correctly because I'm not used to rolling my "r"s.
Hey guys. It's been so great to have everyone back at IU from spring break. It's made this week fun hearing stories and just getting to talk to yall. Nothing exciting has really happened over the past few days. I've been sick since last night, but I'm feeling MUCH better now than I was this time last night. I think that I just had a 24-hour bug and my stomach did not like the half-alive fish that I tried last night at dinner. I won't be eating that anymore...

I finally have a picture of my teacher and me. I love her-she's so cute and trendy and such a friendly person. She's helped me feel so comfortable at this school. She student taught in London about ten years ago, so she knows exactly what I am going through. I was interviewed yesterday by a "Padre" (father, priest)-I don't remember his name! He put the interview up on the website, so I've attached it in this email for yall to look at...I don't know how many of yall can read Spanish. Basically he asked me why I was teaching in Spain, what university I went to in the US, what I like about their school and Avila, how long I will be here until, etc. Basic questions in which I gave basic answers since my Spanish vocabulary is somewhat limited!

Here is the website: http://www.colegiopablovi.es/

- Once you are there, click "entrar" OR just let the music play through the introduction
- When you are on the main page, click "Noticias (nuevo)" at the top of the page. It will be the 3rd bar that you can
click on.
- My interview will be on that page if you scroll down a little.


Hopefully I'll have some exciting stories and pictures from this weekend. We are going to do the more touristy things that there are to do in Avila, which we're all really excited about. Rafaela, the girl from Germany, is coming with us too. She's great-she had me laughing so hard tonight that I was crying. Emily, her, and I were all hanging out tonight talking about Germany and people's perspectives of Germans, WWII, etc. It was a really interesting conversation and such a great opportunity to hear about it from a German. Emily also attempted to explain the concept of "spooning" to her which was hilarious because it is such a weird expression. Rafaela leaves in a week and I really wish that she'd stay the rest of the time we are here. She fits in well with us...we are all VERY different from each other, but manage to get along great.

This week at school has been soooo good since I had my "mini" meltdown on Monday morning. I think I was able to release a lot of stress (thanks, Matt) and now I am a lot more calm and comfortable at the school. I think that my least favorite part of the day is coffee break in which I sit in a small room that echoes easily with 10 other teachers and try to understand at least one of the conversations...not so easy to do. This past Wednesday though, I was able to understand that one of the teachers is going to France for Semana Santa (holy week-Easter week). So, that was an accomplishment! This whole speaking and listening to a different language things wears me out, but I really missed not being at school today (because I was sick). Especially because today was my day to be with the younger kids who I LOVE.

I'll write more later on this weekend! Hope yall are doing well! PS-I like the food here (for the most part) but I am CRAVING American food...like a big, fat chicken wrap filled with goodness, or a big fat juicy cheeseburger, or something from Scotty's in btown, or french fries...something other than fish and bread...

Advertisement



24th March 2006

Glad
I am so glad that you are feeling better and your new friends sound so unique. Wish I could send you some American food like my dressing!! Love you.

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0816s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb