ahh, Espana!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Ávila
March 15th 2006
Published: March 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

AvilaAvilaAvila

I love this picture. It portrays Avila well...cute, little European town with mountains in the background (they are a little difficult to see)!
Hey guys! I hope every one is doing well. Spain is amazing-I'm loving it here, but it's definitely very challenging as well. I'm a pretty social person and I enjoy meeting new people, especially people from different countries, but it is soooo hard to speak Spanish all of the time and listen to conversations because they talk so fast (normal speed to them). Plus, it seems like every building and room that I have been in in Spain echoes every little sound...I don't think I've been in a place yet that has carpet, so sounds aren't absorbed at all. So this makes for a very difficult task of straining to hear someone talk to me when I am already straining to listen when it is quieter! Haha! But the people here are very patient and kind. The teachers at the school keep on asking me if I like the school, Avila, Reyes (my teacher). Of course the answer to all of those are yes! I love it, but its still very overwhelming. Thank goodness that the Spanish culture is sooo laid back! I love it....

...my schedule during the week is as follows: I eat breakfast with Emily (one of the girls who is teaching as well from Ball State) at 8:40. Breakfast consists of bread and jam or bread and butter and fruit. The only thing to drink is coffee...and you drink the coffee out of a bowl. Interesting, huh? I then go to school from 9:30-12:30 with a coffee break from 11:20 till 11:40. I think that the coffee break is when I get worn out the most from all of the talking and listening! Oh, and most people in Spain greet each other with kisses on each cheek, so I got a lot of those yesterday! Thank goodness I knew to go to the left first...otherwise, that could have been embarrassing! 😊 From 12:30 to 3:30 I have a break so I come back to the residencia or walk around the town some. I then go back to school from 3:30 till 5:30. 5:30 is still very early to them because they do not eat dinner until 9 pm. Emily and I walked around Avila last night and did some shopping and the streets were so crowded until dinner time! It is so fun and some of the people that are walking around are so cute. I love how the old men and women dress-very European. They are adorable. I always see old men hanging out with their buddies, women too, and older couples just strolling around. They are so cute!

My students are adorable as well. I work with kids from ages 6-11. I am with the English teacher, and she travels around from class to class. I loved working with the 6 year olds yesterday, they were precious! But I've also enjoyed the older kids too. They can speak English pretty well...they have to think about what they are going to say before speaking, but that's usually what I have to do too. I've been able to walk around and help the kids with their questions-which usually is successful, but sometimes I have no idea what they are saying/asking. They are sooo sweet and patient with me though! I'm very impressed with the behavior of the older students!

I think that my experience here will be an emotional roller coaster. I LOVE it and I definitely wouldn't want to be teaching anywhere else right now, and I know that I'm going to learn a ton while I am here. Not just speaking Spanish better, but patience, more confidence, just putting myself out there, etc. I'm constantly praying in my head for God to give me a godly perspective on everything, to not let myself get upset because I can't understand something, etc. My mind likes to make up stories about the people here thinking I'm an idiot-which maybe I am somewhat when it comes to Spanish-haha, but I know that that is not what they think. Hopefully they appreciate my willingness to learn their language and culture better!


Well that's about all for now! I'll write more later on this week! Saturday and Sunday I am going to Madrid with Emily and Rachel. We are going to pick up Ryann(another girl who is teaching here) at the airport on Sunday. Hasta luego!

Advertisement



16th March 2006

You don't even know how ridiculously jealous I am of you! And I miss you!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb