FINALLY in Avila!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Ávila
March 13th 2006
Published: March 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My Travels


AvilaAvilaAvila

La Plaza de Santa Teresa
Hey guys! I'm finally in Avila after a very long flight/walk/train ride/and taxi ride, but thank God that I made it here safely and without too many complications (after leaving the Atlanta airport). Once I got here, there wasn't anyone to be seen. I walked and waited around for a bit to see if I could find the person who is supposed to work at the front desk, but no luck. So I tried to call home to waste some time so that I wasn't just sitting in this huge, echoing room by myself, but no luck again. Finally, I met the guy who works at the front desk and he got me settled into my room. I tried to strike up some conversation with him, but going without sleep for over almost a day makes it very difficult to speak Spanish correctly!

This afternoon and evening two of the girls that I am here with, Rachel and Emily, and I walked around Avila. I think it is the most strenuous exercise that I have gotten in quite some time (even more than Kathy Smith, Jaclyn). Avila is a very very hilly (steeeeep hills) place and most of the roads are cobblestone...that makes for some hard walking. It was a lot of fun to explore around the town some though. I love how everything looks...so European. We stopped at a little cafe for a mid afternoon snack. No one is tipped around here, so they don't really have a reason to be nice...at least this was the case with our waitress. I don't know if it was necessarily her being rude or us just not being used to a waitress not being super nice like most are, so I guess this is just something that we are going to have to get used to so our feelings don't get hurt!

Dinner is at 9 pm every night. I was somewhat nervous about going to dinner because you sit with everyone in the residencia. That's a lot of pressure to talk to a lot of people. The dining hall is long and narrow and has 2 sets of tables that stretch alllll the way down the room-think Harry Potter. The cooks bring out soup first (some kind of nasty pea mushy soup thing tonight), then salad and the main dish, and then dessert which is usually yogurt or fruit. It wasn't too bad tonight. I enjoyed it, but it was awkward sitting there with 40-50 other Spanish students. The girls in my dorm are really really nice though. I've really appreciated their patience and understanding with the 3 of us girls trying to speak their language the best we can. Actually I've had quite a few good laughs with Rachel and Emily because I know how stupid we must look sometimes trying to sputter out what we are wanting to say. So at least we are finding amusement among all of the overwhelmingness. 😊

Tomorrow is my first day of teaching at Colegio Pablo VI. I'm really looking forward to meeting my teacher and the kids, but I'm also very nervous. It can get overwhelming. Please keep me in your prayers tomorrow throughout the day and even tonight since I am 6-7 hours ahead of yall. Thanks so much! Also, I've posted some pictures on 'webshots' that I took on my stroll around town today. I think that you'll have to copy and paste the site into your browser. Let me know if it doesn't work. I'll update soon and add more pictures!


http://community.webshots.com/album/548531622OECMUr

Advertisement



15th March 2006

Hi
I have just read your blog and know you are having a wonderful experience. Haven't tried to pull up the pictures as yet. My prayers are with you every day. Love you.
16th March 2006

On the other side
It's weird to be on the other side of this blog thing. Like I said on your wall in facebook. Experience it to the fullest! You are in for a wonderful ride! Can't wait to check up on you. If you have any questions about traveling let me know. I remember every where we stayed and where we went...ohhh I'm soo jealous!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb