Trip to Avila


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Ávila
February 3rd 2008
Published: February 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

On Friday, two of my friends and I decided to take a trip to Avila, a town that is north-west of Toledo. We took the AVE to Madrid, then got on a bus to Avila. The bus ride was about an hour and a half. Avila is much colder than Toledo, and there are mountains with snow on them! It also snowed (for about 3 minutes) during our bus ride! The best part was we saw these signs on the road that warned of snow (I tried to get a picture but it didn't work!).

Avila is a really beautiful city. It is kind of like Toledo, only much flatter, and the streets aren't nearly as narrow. It is also surrounded by a stone wall like Toledo. The best part of the trip was that we got to go on top of the wall! I have a couple pictures of it, but then my camera batteries died. My friends took a lot more so when I get the pictures from them I'll add them!

We ate at a restaurant for lunch where we got 2 courses, dessert, bread, wine, and water all for 11 euro, which is pretty good! The waiter also asked us if we were from England 😊 I also spoke to my first "local" all by myself! I went into a shop alone and talked to the lady...and I understood what she was saying, and she could understand me! Then, I brought my friends in with me, and the lady commented that I know more Spanish than my friend!! 😊 My friend felt bad, but I was pretty excited 😊

All in all, it was a very fun (but also very long!) day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

STAIRS!STAIRS!
STAIRS!

These are the first set of stairs we had to climb to get on top of the wall...they were really steep, narrow, and hard to walk on!
Snow-capped mountainsSnow-capped mountains
Snow-capped mountains

View from on top of the wall
CathedralCathedral
Cathedral

The back of the Cathedral, from the wall.
WallWall
Wall

We pretended like we were in the Lord of the Rings!


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb