Toledo


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha
April 24th 2017
Published: April 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

When I first started thinking about where I wanted to go on this trip, my first thought was Toledo, Spain. Essentially, all the other destinations for my Europe 2017 travels are an outgrowth of that. I was here in Toledo in 2005 and found the city attractive and rewarding. Consequently, today was the day for my return and I was pleased to see some of the same sights as well as some new ones. The train from Madrid is only 30 minutes (and $12) each way, so it's an easy day trip. Toledo has a dramatic setting on a rocky ridge above the Tagus River and this provides lots of great views (see photo). My first stop was the awesome cathedral, perhaps the best one I have ever been in - and I have been in a few. It is large but manageable, and there is something interesting to see every few steps around the interior. If you are a fan of El Greco, then this is the cathedral for you because he has several paintings in situ here. The best feature, IMO, is the huge gold altar (difficult to photograph well because of the ornate grille in front of it). The only negative about the building is that the square in front is too small to allow a good viewpoint for the facade. I will include three photos of the interior. There is a Franciscan monastery nearby that has a lovely cloister with a refreshing green central garden (see photo). I also visited the National Army Museum which is very well done and a few other sights on my list. One disappointment is that I wanted to go inside the Church of San Justo and Pastor. It is not exactly on the standard tourist itinerary, but I remember it fondly from 12 years ago when Maggie's choir sang there. The church was locked tight, so I only got to see the outside, but as compensation I treated myself to an espresso and a pain-et-chocolat at a cafe on the plaza. I'm on the train back to Madrid, so I'll publish this blog when I get back to the hotel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.357s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb