Toledo Redux


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
June 11th 2011
Published: June 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

When I was in Madrid three years ago, I took a day to come and visit Toledo. It turned out to be a highlight of the trip. So I was very excited to have the chance to go and see it. I was not disappointed. There is something quite special about this small town. It feels like you are being transported into another time from the second you reach the first "puerta" that welcomes you into the city centre. The streets are narrow, winding and many are still in cobblestone. There are medieval and religious touches adorning the many buildings. The souvenirs include medieval wares and gorgeous colour pottery.

I think that the best way to see Toledo is without a map. I just walked and walked and walked. I would pop in to whatever appealed to me ... little shops, the cathedral, a synagogue and more little shops.

I did stop in to visit the cathedral because I actually had not visited it last time ... not exactly sure why. Out of this world ... the high altar is indescribable. One side is this incredible sculpture of the last supper adorned with tens of angels. The other side is this amazing golden sculpture with colourful depictions. There is an enormous wrought iron gate (considered to be the biggest in Spain) and the sides are decorated with beautiful white angels with delicate golden accents.

The choir section is also just as beautiful. The benches are carved out of dark wood. Because of the fragility of the wood, it is actually not currently used.

The cathedral also houses a small museum which include a number of Carravagio, Greco, Ribera and Rubens. There is also a section displaying robes worn by cardinals with intricate and delicate embroidery. The visit also takes you through the treasury which contains beautiful gold crosses and other jewels and instruments used in the church. There is a crown that is covered in pearls, emeralds and rubies that was just out of this world.

Ironically there was a manifestation last time I was here and there was a manifestation once again. A noisy one at that and there was definitely a good police presence. They were just noisy and they later dispersed. Demonstrating seems to be a popular activity here in Spain!!

I will let the photos speak for themselves ... just a simple, quiet, relaxing, beautiful day in Toledo. The one difference ... I am definitely in better shape than I was last time I was here. Toledo is built on a hill and I remember thinking I would die by the time I finally made it up the hill. This time ... barely out of breath ... yay me!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

4 Tropical garden at Atocha Train Station4 Tropical garden at Atocha Train Station
4 Tropical garden at Atocha Train Station

... and home to hundreds of turtles
1010
10

The tiles make up a coat of arms
1515
15

Looking down to Puerta de Bisagra
1717
17

These tarps covered many of the streets ... not sure why
1818
18

Remember this shop from last time
1919
19

At a restaurant


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb