La Casa de MARZIPAN!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
April 4th 2006
Published: April 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Okay I´m the biggest dork, I get so excited about all the different foods over here in our travels...and let me tell you we have come across a GEM in Toledo...MARZIPAN...its a pastry made out of none other than one of my FAVORITE FOODS in the world...ALMONDS!!! Yeah these Spanish people are GENUISES...almonds, honey and sugar packed into this heavenly doughy concoction, its great and its everywhere in Toledo!

We just arrived yesterday and had a big reunion (Blair and Alyssa went to Madrid while Melissa and I were in Salamanca). We´re staying in my favorite hostel so far, a renovated castle that´s been here since the 1400s for only 12 euro a night!!! Its on the top of a hill overlooking the rest of the city of Toledo. The city has a fascinating religious history, it has been the home to Muslim, Christian and Jewish religions and is a city where all three religions have existed peacefully. I am so interested in all the religious history and constantly find myself wanting to know more about the buildings and the people that have occupied the city. We saw a Synagogue in the old Jewish quarter of the town today, in the 1400s it was built as a synagogue and then was used as a mosque and later as a Church. It´s so fascinating to see each of these religions and their styles of architecture overlap.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

MAZAPANMAZAPAN
MAZAPAN

Toledo´s famous dessert, made from ALMONDS...my favorite!


10th April 2006

Love reading your stuff
could you please tell me the name of the hostel you stayed in that was a renovated castle and only 12 eruo in Toledo?

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb