Flamenco Dancers and Carnival!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
February 24th 2009
Published: February 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wow, it’s been a while since I last wrote…and I have a bunch of things to talk about!

Starting out with last Tuesday: There was a dinner with Flamenco dancers and music at the school. It was very fun and entertaining. They pulled people onto the dance floor (No, I didn’t join) which gave us all some good laughs.

Friday, before our class visit to the Prado, a friend and I decided to go to Madrid early and walk around and shop. It was really nice to get out of Toledo for the day and be outside. I bought a few things and took some pictures. Madrid is a very neat city, on the one hand, it's just another big city, but on the other hand it is full of history and beautiful sites and parks… I took more pictures of the cows displayed throughout town as you can see

And then this last weekend….

Last weekend was Carnival, which is kind of like our Halloween…except cooler in some aspects. Everyone dresses up and just goes out and has a good time. There were concerts to go to, dances, and the bars were packed with people of ALL ages.. and I mean all. There were a bunch of little (LITTLE) kids running around the bar while we were there! But it was so fun. I only went out Friday night for Carnival. A group of about 7 of us Americans hung out and danced (The Spanish people in Toledo don’t really dance. The girls do a bit, but the guys DO NOT)

Saturday night was when there was a lot going on for Carnival but I ended up not going to it. It was my host mom’s nephew’s birthday and a bunch of the family got together to eat. I was told there would be a woman from MN there…? Anyway it turns out that this woman from Eden Prairie, 20 years ago, attended the University of Minnesota (like me) and studied abroad in Toledo through the same program I am on now, met a Spaniard, got married and now has two kids and has been living in Spain ever since! She’s my mom’s age now and it was so much fun to talk to her in English! She is distantly, through marriage, related to my host mom…

Everything else was great about that night too. There was food out on the table to pick at.. and my host mom’s dad sat next to me and made me try EVERYTHING. He was a great guy haha I wish I had a better picture of everyone, but this is all I have for now. There is another birthday next month and I am invited to that one too! Ill try to get better pictures then

Yesterday, I actually Loved Cocoa-the crazy dog. Sometimes I kind of hate him. He has SUCH bad behavior! He makes me miss my puppies all the time =(But yesterday he was lovin up on me and we were doing tricks and whatnot.. I got some good pictures of him =)


Anyway, not much else new here. I have midterms starting today. They shouldn’t be TOO bad. Then this weekend I am traveling!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Bartenders at La LunaBartenders at La Luna
Bartenders at La Luna

Friday night-carnival
FriendsFriends
Friends

Fridaynight-carnival
FriendsFriends
Friends

Friday night-carnival


Tot: 0.281s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0867s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb