Hola a Todos!!!!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
January 19th 2006
Published: January 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Spain!!! I still can't believe I'm actually here! It's been a few days but already I feel like my Spanish is improving (although typing in English doesn't help but I doubt anyone would read this if it was all in Spanish so I guess I'll have to compromise). 😊 I am currently tapping into my neighbor's wireless which is AMAZING so I can actually keep this thing updated while I'm in Spain. My family is fabulous, especially my mom (Conce) who is a crazy housewife who cooks the most amazing meals and washes my clothes every other day (AND irons them...I don't think these clothes have EVER been ironed since I bought them). The house is spotless which sometimes makes me nervous because I'm a bit of a mess but so far so good.

I also have a dad who is nice and a brother (Miguel Angel) and a sister (Elena) who are nice but a little introverted so we haven't talked much. But never fear, I'm working on it. 😊 Our classes start in a week so as of yet we've only taken a placement test, picked classes (I have mondays free! and no classes friday...hello four day weekends!), and explored Toledo. We have such a great group here and I've already made some new friends. There are also a bunch of kids from Minnesota and a few from various places like Puerto Rico, North Carolina, and Wisconsin. We went out the past two nights for some sangria and good times and I have decided that I absolutely LOVE sangria! It's a mixture of fruit, wine, and some sort of alcohol and it tastes delicious. AND it's cheap (barato)...muy imporatante! Today we have an official tour around Toledo and then interviews for an internship. I think I'll still try one...I'm hoping to get the Red Cross but I'll take whatever I can get. I hope it doesn't take up too much time...

I've also started running again! All these fit Spaniards (and fit ND kids) have inspired me to begin again after my 2 month hiatus. There are a few ND girls that live nearby and there is a beeeeautiful running path so we've been going out together and it feels GREAT! It's a little tough after a night of sangria, but I'm doing my best to get fit again. 😊

Well I can smell
Toledo!Toledo!Toledo!

what a view...
the pollo (chicken) cooking so I think I'll go grab some lunch. I hope all is well wherever you are (ND, home, Europe, etc.) and have a fabulous day! Hasta luego!

un abrazo (a hug),

Laura 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Rockin the Irish barRockin the Irish bar
Rockin the Irish bar

Dancing it up with my new companera de bailar (Katie aka conejo). :)


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb